Posted in books, Uncategorized

My week in books….

Happy Friday to you all!    This weeks’ post is going to look a little different to normal as this has been the week of THE READING SLUMP!  I can’t explain it! The books have continued to pile up in hardback, paperback and e-book form but my inclination to read has just ceased to be.  My book reading part of the brain has gone on strike!!  Hopefully some careful negotiations will be able to lure it back to some form of reading very soon – or else this blog is going to start looking very diffferent!! Maybe I could just post up ‘books I haven’t read this week’ instead!!  

Books read this week……

There has been one book that I did finish this week and it was a cracker so maybe it’s a good thing that it gets all the attention this week…

THE VISITORS by REBECCA MASCULL

Imagine if you couldn’t see
couldn’t hear
couldn’t speak…
Then one day somebody took your hand and opened up the world to you.

Adeliza Golding is a deafblind girl, born in late Victorian England on her father’s hop farm. Unable to interact with her loving family, she exists in a world of darkness and confusion; her only communication is with the ghosts she speaks to in her head, who she has christened the Visitors. One day she runs out into the fields and a young hop-picker, Lottie, grabs her hand and starts drawing shapes in it. Finally Liza can communicate.

Her friendship with her teacher and with Lottie’s beloved brother Caleb leads her from the hop gardens and oyster beds of Kent to the dusty veldt of South Africa and the Boer War, and ultimately to the truth about the Visitors.

Rebecca Mascull’s first novel is the tale of a wonderful friendship, but it is also a thrilling adventure, a heartbreaking love story and a compelling ghost story

Amazon UK

Hive.co.uk – buy from your local bookstore online

I was a huge fan of The Song of The Sea Maid by Rebecca, so knew I wanted to read her debut novel and it didn’t disappoint!  The perfect read for this time of year with its’ ghostly visitors, and such an amazing character in Adeliza as you follow her journey, that you soon become absorbed in her story and how she deals with life as a deafblind girl, and how she overcomes many obstacles and deals with life in late Victorian England.  The bond between Adeliza and Lottie was extremely touching and adds some real charm to this stunning debut.  Can highly recommend it if you haven’t already read it!

My GoodReads review

Books bought this week…..

I’ve even been extra good on the book buying front this week! Hard to believe I know!

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

An eleven-year-old girl stops eating, but remains miraculously alive and well. A nurse, sent to investigate whether she is a fraud, meets a journalist hungry for a story.

Set in the Irish Midlands in the 1850s, The Wonder—inspired by numerous European and North American cases of “fasting girls” between the sixteenth century and the twentieth—is a psychological thriller about a child’s murder threatening to happen in slow motion before our eyes. Pitting all the seductions of fundamentalism against sense and love, it is a searing examination of what nourishes us, body and soul.

Amazon UK

 How could I resist a cover like that?! So I didn’t! Loved reading Room by the same author, and have heard some good reports about this one so it had to be added to my collection! Have you read it? Would love to hear your thoughts on it if you have! Do i need to bump it up my TBR pile or will it snap me out of this reading slump?!

And while browsing in a charity shop the other day I also discovered a Persephone cover version of Greenery Street by Denis Mackail.  I’ve seen the Persephone covers all over BookTube and thought they’d always looked gorgeous so I couldn’t resist buying this despite knowing very little about the actual book!  Sometimes that’s the best way to buy a book I think!  So I think I’ll now definitely be looking out for more of these covers and start a little Persephone collection!

So that has been my week! How has your week been? Good or bad?!  No plans for this weekend so maybe I can get back to attacking some of the wonderful titles on the TBR pile once more!

HAPPY READING!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

