Posted in books

My week in books!

Sitting here on a gloomy, rainy Friday afternoon – is it time to hibernate yet??!    Have been slightly spoilt on the weather front recently with very little rain here in Essex so need to acclimatise to the darker, damper conditions once more! All good for the garden though!

And at least things have improved on the reading front for me this week, after a blip in proceedings last week! So without further ado, here’s my week in bookish form!!

Books i’ve read!

Had a good success rate this week with books that I have managed to finish! All really enjoyable and a wide range of subjects too;

Victoria by Daisy Goodwin  – 5 stars

So Long, See You Tomorrow by William Maxwell – 4 stars

Holly’s Christmas Kiss by Alison May – 4 stars

Cora’s Christmas Kiss by Alison May  – 4 stars

Jessica’s Christmas Kiss by Alison May – 4 stars

A Second Christmas Wish  by Kathryn Freeman  – 5 stars

Books Bought this week

Have been fairly well behaved on the buying front  – it is possible it seems!  Did take a big bag of paperbacks to a local charity shop this week which helped clear a little (!) space, but then couldn’t manage to leave the charity shop without spotting 2 newbies that I really needed to add to my collection…

Perfume by Patrick Suskind – have had this on my radar for a while so was glad to spot it on the charity shop shelves as I’ve heard good things about it so am hoping to enjoy it soon!

A Summer of Drowning by John Burnside – I really enjoyed reading The Dumb House by this author and then saw Jen Campbell on BookTube praising this book too, so that’s when it was added to my ‘ones to look out for’ list

And then I was browsing in Waterstones, as you do, the other day with a gift voucher burning a hole in my purse and I noticed another book that I’d been hearing amazing things about so how could I not take advantage of a gift voucher, on a signed edition too!!

The Power by Naomi Alderman 

 

So this is on my current ‘reading’ pile along with The Book Thief that I’m enjoying all over again, if that’s the right way of describing the experience of reading that book, for an online book club.

My NetGalley TBR pile seems to be on the rather large side again so I really need to pencil in more reading time over the next few days/weeks/months!  Now if I did hibernate then that would be one way of decreasing the TBR pile! Can’t believe I never thought of that before!!

Happy Reading!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

