Posted in books, Uncategorized

My week in books….

Friday returns!  I trust this makes you all happy!!  And I trust that this week has treated you all well, and has left you with lots to be grateful for! And if there’s been an excuse for cake I hope you have taken it!!  There should always be cake…….

Been a very productive week on the bookish front and also a winning one too!  Was part of the Facebook live signing by Cecilia Ahern for her new book Lyrebird, and was rather chuffed when she read out my comment and personally signed a book for me so I am eagerly awaiting the postman to deliver that very soon!! 

Books Finished this week

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

5 stars again, as I got to re-read this as part of a Facebook Book Club.  Loved it the first time, loved it even more the second time! If you’ve not read it yet, why not???!!! Go read it!!

Alice by Eva Hanagan

Was intrigued by this on NetGalley as it had a really pretty cover – not the one above – which caught my eye. Unfortunately the story inside didn’t match so I only gave this 2 out of 5.

What Alice Knew by T.A. Cotterell

received an advance blogger edition of this book and ooh!! It was good!!  One definitely to watch out for as it had me guessing all the way through and is really cleverly set up!

Because of You by Helene Fermont

Another copy I received through the publishers and the Bookollective group, and another absorbing story as the reader gets to see inside the life of Hannah Stein over a number of years, and all the highs and lows that life often throws at people.  Very accomplished debut so highly recommended!

Book Haul

I have managed to keep myself a little more restrained this week and have bought the grand total of ONE book!!

The Road to Ever After by Moira Young

 How could I not buy it with this gorgeous sparkly cover???!!!  Was supposed to be a present for my 9 year old niece,  but I’m thinking I might just have to read through it first myself and see if it is suitable as it looks just a gorgeous story and worthy of a place on any bookshelf! 😉

Seven Steps to Happiness by Stella Newman

And in the post today I was lucky enough to be sent a copy a copy of this fun looking title from the publishers Headline Press.  So this might be my next read over the weekend with a rainy Saturday forecast!!

 

Rather happy with my progress on the reading front this week! So I am now up to having completed 164 books in 2016 on my GoodReads challenge!! Yay me!! Have been quite lucky in a lot of those have been shorter books as I’ve not been brave enough to face some of the bigger hardbacks on my TBR pile! Maybe I should start attacking those before Christmas!  I wish they didn’t scare me so much!! I need to be brave and dive right in!! 

Happy Reading!!

 

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

