Posted in books, review

My week in books….

Happy Friday 13th to you all!! Hope you have a lucky day!  There is snow in Essex today so my pet bunny is a happy boy as he loves it!  Disappearing fast though now so hopefully it won’t cause too much disruption! 

Happy to report it has been a good week again on  the book front!   Reading and buying!!  And borrowing too now as I’ve decided to take advantage of our local library more – now that i’ve managed to remember my password for the machine in there! – and so I’m hoping that will help curb my book buying habits a little!  

Book Haul

I couldn’t stay away! And i’m blaming the videos I’ve been watching on BookTube again for leading me astray and wanting to add new reads to my TBR mountain!  So this little lot arrived this week as The Book People had a good deal on the Costa Book Award books

Alice Oswald – Falling Awake

Francis Spufford – Golden Hill

Brian Conaghan – The Bombs that brought us together

Sebastian Barry – Days without End

Keggie Carew –  Dadland

Anyone read any of these yet?!  Not sure which one to start with but they all sound so good!

Books Read

Miss Christie Regrets by Guy Fraser-Sampson

Review posted up yesterday –  a real classy crime novel!

The Secret Lives of the Amir Sisters by Nadiya Hussain

This is the debut novel from the Great British Bake-off winner Nadiya.  Found it to be a very ‘safe’ debut that had some fun moments as it follows the lives of the Amir family as they go through some personal problems added to the fact that they are the only Muslim family in a small english village.  An easy read.

Out of Essex by James Canton

Borrowed this via the library app Overdrive as an e-book and found this to be a fascinating read about the link that Essex has to many literary names such as H.G Wells, Defoe, John Clare and even Shakespeare.

We are all made of Stars by Rowan Coleman

This was another book borrowed from the library and was the book club choice of one of the Facebook groups I belong to. Found it to be an emotional and inspiring book about the power of writing a letter as people were in a hospice asking one of the nurses to write notes to their loved ones for when they passed.  A beautiful book.

And that concludes my bookish week!  How has yours been? Productive?!  I did manage another little clear out of my bookshelves to help the local charity shops with another bag of books for donation so I’m doing my best to keep things under control at home, although I have been plotting ways to find room for another bookcase!!  

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

