Posted in books, review

Weekly Wrap-up

flower

 

Bonjour!!  I trust your week has been a happy-ish one, full of smiles and books!    Survived another one here in one piece – that’s always a bonus!! And the garden is beginning to fill up with colour! The hellebores are putting on a lovely display as always!

And it has been a pretty good bookish week too – helped by taking part in the #cosyreadingnight on Saturday night which was started by Lauren of @laurenthebooks of Twitter and BookTube fame.  It’s a wonderful night where you put aside 3 hours to get cosy on the sofa or in bed, with candles, snacks and, most importantly, books and you just read! It was lovely to be part of and see what everyone else was reading via the hashtag on Twitter and hopefully it will be a more regular occurence now!  Always good to have an excuse to stock up on extra snacks haha!!  Did anyone else take part?! Hope you had as much fun as I did!

Been extremely restrained recently on the book purchasing front – call the Doctors immediately! I must be poorly!! – so the only bookpost I received this week was Twitter.

WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by HARRIET CUMMINGS

It’s 1984, and summer is scorching the ordinary village of Heathcote.

What’s more, a mysterious figure is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows. Dubbed ‘the Fox’, he knows everything about everyone – leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community believes the Fox is responsible.

For the worried residents, finding Anna will be difficult – but stopping the Fox from exposing their darkest secrets might just be impossible…

Out 20th April 2017

BOOKS FINISHED THIS WEEK

THE SEED COLLECTORS by SCARLETT THOMAS

The seductive new novel from the bestselling author of The End of Mr. Y, full of life, death, desire and family trees.

What secrets are hiding in your family tree?

Great Aunt Oleander is dead. To each of her nearest and dearest she has left a seed pod. The seed pods might be deadly, but then again they might also contain the secret of enlightenment . . .

A complex and fiercely contemporary tale of inheritance, enlightenment, life, death, desire and family trees, The Seed Collectors is the most important novel yet from one of the world’s most daring and brilliant writers.

This was a book I’d seen on my travels and then found it in the library so thought I’d give it a go as I hadn’t read anything by this author before.  And it has left me with very mixed views!! I loved AND hated it in equal measures!!  When it was good it was very, very good! Funny, sharp, insightful and witty! But then it was bad it was very, very bad!!  Crass, obscene, vulgar, shallow and dull!  So it had everything lol! Hope to give some of the authors other work a go just to see if i feel the same about those too!

WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES by GEORGIA HUNTER

Reading Georgia Hunter s We Were the Lucky Ones is like being swung heart first into history. . . . A brave and mesmerizing debut, and a truly tremendous accomplishment. Paula McLain, New York Timesbestselling author of The Paris Wife

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who are separated at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive and to reunite

It is the spring of 1939 and three generations of the Kurc family are doing their best to live normal lives, even as the shadow of war grows closer. The talk around the family Seder table is of new babies and budding romance, not of the increasing hardships threatening Jews in their hometown of Radom, Poland. But soon the horrors overtaking Europe will become inescapable and the Kurcs will be flung to the far corners of the world, each desperately trying to navigate his or her own path to safety. 

Absolutely adored reading this as it was a stunning family drama set during the Second World War and it was breathtaking and heartwrenching in equal measures!  I highly recommend it!!

SAFE FROM HARM by R.J. BAILEY

London: a city where the super-rich flock – and where their enemies follow. And in this city of eight million people, where any stranger could be a threat, a close protection operative is the must-have accessory for anyone who is anyone.
But not just any close protection officer. A female close protection officer. One who can blend into the crowd, but who is tough enough to counter any threat.
Safe From Harm is the explosive opening to an exciting new series by a thrilling new talent.

This was a one sitting read for me!  Picked up it as it was one of my book clubs monthly reads and I found it to be a fast paced and intriguing book that is all set up nicely for more to follow which I am looking forward to!

THE DOLL FUNERAL by KATE HAMER

My name is Ruby. I live with Barbara and Mick. They’re not my real parents, but they tell me what to do, and what to say. I’m supposed to say that the bruises on my arms and the black eye came from falling down the stairs.

But there are things I won’t say. I won’t tell them I’m going to hunt for my real parents. I don’t say a word about Shadow, who sits on the stairs, or the Wasp Lady I saw on the way to bed.

I did tell Mick that I saw the woman in the buttercup dress, hanging upside down from her seat belt deep in the forest at the back of our house. I told him I saw death crawl out of her. He said he’d give me a medal for lying.

I wasn’t lying. I’m a hunter for lost souls and I’m going to be with my real family. And I’m not going to let Mick stop me

That cover drew me in!!  And as I had loved The Girl in The Red Coat I couldn’t wait for this from the same author and it didn’t disappoint! Dark, atmospheric, haunting and gripping – i loved it!

And that wraps this week up for me!!  Up to having read 26 books so far this  year on my GoodReads challenge so quite happy with that!  Seem to be slowing down a little though so need to start picking up the pace again and get another little reading pile sorted out for the week ahead!  Quite a few good new releases about that I want to get to, along with catching up with the wonderful stories that have been sitting on my bookshelves for quite a while now!  Anyone else find it harder to choose what to read next nowadays?! If the publishing world could slow down on releasing so many good books then I’d be eternally grateful!! 😉

HAPPY READING!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

