Posted in books, review

Bookish Weekly Wrap Up!

Hello all!!  Hope you have all had a lovely bookish week – anyone do anything special for World Book Day?!  Enjoyed seeing all the photos of friends’ children all dressed up as various characters – just a shame that a lot of costumes nowadays are brought from shops! I miss the creativity – and randomness – of the homemade fancy dress outfits that used to do the rounds!! Sheets and bin bags were a must in my day for creating something wonderful to wear haha!!  Oh and I celebrated the day by buying some books! Well, I had to do something! 😉

Speaking of books it seems to have been an extremely busy one on the bookish front for me – just the way I like it!  So here’s a little peek into my bookish week;

BOOKPOST

 Dangerous Cargo by J.M. Shorney

Aidan McRaney is trying to stay away from his shadier past in this James Bond style thriller, but the offer of fifteen thousand pounds from Agency boss Nick Lombardi is too good to pass up. Lombardi needs someone to infiltrate the lair of The Widow. No agent has survived previous missions and Lombardi believes its McRaneys knowledge of the criminal underworld that will give him the edge. An arms dealer, The Widow is in league with the L.A. Mafia and has bought a house on a remote island off the Cornish coast, far enough away from the mainland where the arms can be both smuggled and tested. When Don Giorgio Avonicci arrives, accompanied by his female bodyguard, McRaney finds its not just the weapons being tested but his commitment to his wife in London. This is the fourth book in the Aidan McRaney series which began with his release from prison in the book Stalking Aidan.

Received this ahead of a Blog Tour that I’ll be part of at the end of the month and it’s a pulsating read so watch this space for more later!

AN ACCOUNT OF THE DECLINE OF THE GREAT AUK, ACCORDING TO ONE WHO SAW IT by JESSIE GREENGRASS

The twelve stories in this startling collection range over centuries and across the world.

There are stories about those who are lonely, or estranged, or out of time. There are hauntings, both literal and metaphorical; and acts of cruelty and neglect, but also of penance.

Some stories concern themselves with the present, and the mundane circumstances in which people find themselves: a woman who feels stuck in her life imagines herself in different jobs – as a lighthouse keeper in Wales, or as a guard against polar bears in a research station in the Arctic.

Some stories concern themselves with the past: a sixteenth-century alchemist and doctor, whose arrogance blinds him to people’s dissatisfaction with their lives until he experiences it himself.

Finally, in the title story, a sailor gives his account – violent, occasionally funny and certainly tragic – of the decline of the Great Auk

This is due out at the end of March and I received this via Bookbridgr as I’ve heard so many good things so am eager to dive in soon!

THE HOUSE OF MOUNTFATHOM by NIGEL MCDOWELL

Luke Mountfathom knows he is special and odd. He is told so by everyone he knows. His parents are special and odd too – they are the keepers of the House of Mountfathom, a magnificent stately home where the wrong door could take you to a far away land, and strange animals appear to stalk the grounds at midnight. The house is his home – but it is also the headquarters of the Driochta, a magic-weaving group of poets, artists, politicians and activists charged with keeping the peace in Ireland. They have many powers – have mastered Mirror-Predicting and Smoke-Summoning and Storm-Breaching – and a final ability: that of Mogrifying; taking on a unique animal form.

But Luke’s idyllic existence at Mountfathom cannot last. Word reaches the House of protests across Ireland. There is a wish for independence, a rising discontent and scenes of violence that even the Driochta cannot control. In Dublin, death and disease is running rife in the tenements; a darkness is clogging the air, and is intent on staying. And when things quickly spin out of control for the Driochta, it is up to Luke, his cat Morrigan and his best friend Killian to worm out the heart of the evil in their land.

 AN UNSUITABLE MARRIAGE by COLETTE DARTFORD

When the worst happens, could your marriage survive? A sharp and emotional novel of a family under pressure, perfect for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd.

Olivia always thought she had the perfect family life. A loving husband in Geoffrey, a thoughtful and intelligent son in Edward and a beautiful home in the Somerset countryside.

But all that changed when Geoffrey’s business went under. Now penniless and homeless, Geoffrey is living with his recently widowed mother, whilst Olivia has been forced to take a job as housemistress at her son’s elite boarding school.

Soon the cracks in the relationship start to show. And, increasingly desperate, Geoffrey makes a mistake. One that could have consequences for the whole family . . .

Received these two books via Readers First. I love both covers and the blurbs sound really fascinating on both counts so hoping the insides match the outsides!

BOOKS READ

Been a successful reading week too with 4 books finished  and all enjoyed too!  Have included my GoodRead review links with them!

The Whisperer by Elsa Winckler

A really enjoyable read exploring the bond between animals and humans – and the bond between humans!

Expected release 10th March 2017 – HarperImpulse

Amazon UK

The Moth Snowstorm by Michael McCarthy

 

Really loved this look at how we look at nature in the modern world and the scary future ahead with many species and habitats being destroyed.

See You In The Cosmos by Jack Cheng

A very sweet and powerful YA book about a boy who loves the stars

All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai

Loved this one! A real surprise to me!

So that is it! My week wrapped up! How has your bookish week been?! good? bad? indifferent?!  And what does the week ahead have in store for me?!  Yet more books!! March seems to be an extremely busy one on the book release front – dear publishers, please slow down the output of good books for a while, thankyou! – so i have a few from NetGalley and proofs to catch up with, alongside getting through my own mountain of books purchased! I assume I’m not alone with these issues!! 😉

Happy Reading!!

Advertisements

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s