Posted in books, review

The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel – book review

THE BLURB

A gripping, provocative thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of The Girls. Beautiful. Rich. Mysterious. Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl. But you won’t when you know the truth. Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin at the Roanoke family’s rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls. But what she doesn’t know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die. For there is darkness at the heart of Roanoke, and when Lane discovers its insidious pull, she must make her choice…

Publication Date 9th March 2017

Amazon UK

Hive.co.uk – support your local bookstore online

MY REVIEW

As other reviews have mentioned, this isn’t an easy book to review considering the subject matter and topics discussed – but it is one that I just couldn’t put down once I had started it!!! Do not let the beautiful old fashioned cover fool you! This is no ‘twee’ family drama!

The Roanokes are a family of epic dysfunctionality! The girls are beautiful and envied across town, but throughout the generations the girls have died or fled in mysterious circumstances. So when Lane ends up back at the family home after her mother dies, she is soon swept up in the Roanoke world.

It is cleverly set over two timelines – Now and Then – so we get to see Lane as she first meets her cousin Allegra who has been living with her grandparents for sometime. And when Allegra goes missing in the ‘now’ timeline, then Lane has to return home and finds things never change within the family and also in the town where she grew up. She finds it very easy to go back to how life was despite her managing to get away and having not been in contact with anyone from the family in 10 years.

I knew very little of the story before I started the book and I think that is the best way to approach this story. It isn’t a pleasant read but it is so cleverly written that I found myself unable to ‘look away’ as I wanted to know more. It actually left me feeling a little dumbstruck once I had finished as it has that ability to take your breath away!

A must read book – but be warned!!

 

Thankyou to the publishers and author for providing me with an ARC review copy

Advertisements

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s