Posted in books, review

Bookish Weekly Wrap up – Easter special

Hello!!! And Happy Easter from myself and Archie the bunny who is busy on his own kind of Egg hunt in the garden – tracking down my favourite plants and nibbling them before I can stop him!!  Wonder if there are rabbit obedience classes I can sign him up for?!

I hope everyone will be able to put the Easter holidays to good use on the reading front! I have a confession to make this week – it has been an extremely poor week for me on the reading front!  The reading slump has struck and even though I have a ton of wonderful books to get through, my brain has decided to go on strike and creating obstacles for me to do anything and everything BUT read!  Help!!! So I am hoping that a couple of quiet days at home, and some extra chocolate rations, will help inspire me to knuckle down and get my reading groove back on!!

BUT it has been a rather wonderful week for obtaining books and winning stuff!!!  First to the winning stuff part!!  I don’t know if you are aware of the wonderful people at Bookishly who have a wonderful site full of wonderful literary gifts. They also run some wonderful book subscription boxes so I’d highly recommend checking them out, especially if you are looking for literary gifts that are a little bit different.  This month they had an Alice in Wonderland crate which was jam packed with Alice goodies and a lovely edition of Alice in Wonderland.  And in one of the crates they were hiding a white chocolate rabbit and if you were lucky enough to win it then the prize was £150 worth of goodies of your choice from their website….. 

 ooh look who found a white chocolate rabbit!!!!  squeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!

so once I’d finished squealing over my breakfast and emailing the company my news, I got to enjoy all the lovely goodies that were in the Alice crate!  Made my day I can tell you!!  Alice will now always be even more special to me!!

Books Read

The Body In the Ice by A.J. Mackenzie

This was a really enjoyable read which is part of a series so I’m looking forward to going back and reading the first in the series and to the next due out soonish!

Book Post

The art of obtaining books never seems to be a problem for me and this week has proved that!  First up was  a treat to myself from Big Green Bookshop who had a signing with Scarlett Thomas as she launched her new childrens’ book – any mention of a dragon is enough for me so am really looking forward to this one! Click on the book titles for a link to the GoodReads pages!

 Dragon’s Green by Scarlett Thomas 

  

 And then this 6 lovely beasts arrived as part of my latest batch of books as part of the Urbane Publications Book Club where they send out every book they publish throughout the year for £99.99.  

The Knowing by David Graham

Electric Souk by Rose McGinty

Imperfection by Ray Clark

Marching on Together by PJ Whiteley

A Monster by Violet by Laura Wake

An Actor’s Life For Me? by Zoe Sullivan

 

 And the postie was cursing me today with the arrival of 3 books from the publishers for reviewing, all out early May 2017

The Night Visitor by Lucy Atkins

 

 

 

Mr Gandy’s Grand Tour by Alan Titchmarsh

Amnesia by Michael Ridpath

It seems I may have a little bit of reading to do eh!!!  Oops!!  So the plan now is to spend the rest of the weekend under a blanket, with numerous cups of tea and the odd bar of chocolate and make a start on some of these and finally get a couple finished that have been loitering on my bedside table  for a while!!  

HAPPY EASTER AND HAPPY READING!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

