Posted in books, review

Meet Me at Number Five by Lisa Hill – cover reveal and review!

Are we ready?!  For yet another beautiful cover from the beautiful bods at Choc Lit?!  Ok then…. here goes….

How pretty?!  That’s the kind of High Street I want to wander down!  Well, now you can thanks to this fabulous release – OUT TODAY!! – so don’t waste anymore time!! Get downloading!!

THE BLURB

For fans of Jilly Cooper, Fiona Walker and Jane Lovering. You’ll adore this fabulous debut.
What if finding happiness was a race against time?
Grace Cavendish knows a thing or two about horses – but what she doesn’t know is that her husband, top horse racing trainer Charlie Carrisbrook, is having a literal ‘roll in the hay’ right under her nose.

When the painful truth is revealed Grace has no choice but to move in with her highly-strung grandmother Clara and cousin Hennie; a single mum who has renounced men (at least that’s what she says!)

Determined to start again, Grace takes a job at the local restaurant, Number Five. And whilst serving up coffee and cake is a far cry from the stables, she enjoys it – especially as she gets to work alongside the rather scrumptious Sam Whittaker.

But the past is racing to catch up with Grace. Can her life still be a romp to victory or will a devastating secret stop her dead in her tracks? 

Amazon UK

MY REVIEW

This is Graces’ story!  And what a story it is!  I thought it was going to be a gentile look at life behind the scenes of a top racehorse trainer, with the glamour of race day mixed in but boy was I wrong!  Life at a stables is very high paced and Graces’ husband Charlie is a highly thought of trainer but a bit of a sleazebag as a husband! And when she founds out about his dalliance with a stable girl, she moves out of the family home – her family home! – and moves in with her Nana, who seems to run a home for waifs and strays not far from the stables.  It gives Grace the distance she needs to refocus her thoughts and life and that involves getting a part time job at the local cafe which she takes to like a duck to water.  

Also staying with Nana is Hennie and her children and life has dealt them some pretty rough cards too, so she has sworn off men!!  Do we believe her?!

I loved the characters in this book! Grace is a fighter throughout and Nana is a very smart cookie who just wants the best for her girls and does all she can to help them fight injustices in their lives, despite her own problems.

When they find out things aren’t all they seem at the stables with Charlie and his dodgy dealings, they hatch an amazing plan to get back what their family worked hard for with some help from Guy the new farrier at the stables, and Sam the cafe owner.  

This has many laugh out loud moments but just as many moments that had me tearful so it might be handy to have a few tissues on standby – just in case you’re an emotional reader like me!

Such a confident debut from Lisa Hill and I will definitely be looking out for more from her in the future!

Advertisements

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s