Posted in books, review

My bookish weekly wrap up!

Hello!! We meet again!!  I hope everyone is well and if you’re in the UK that you found a way to cope with ‘the heatwave’!!  My policy was just to eat lots of ice-cream and have a fan stationed by my bedside to help on the sleep front!!  I do like the warmer, sunnier weather BUT there needs to be a breeze otherwise it is just pointless and very little gets done – well, that’s my excuse!

So how has the week been book wise for us all?! Good? Bad?  I’m still powering ahead on the reading front and I feel like I’m just overdosing now on reading ready ahead of a big reading slump which I am sure is just around the corner!! But while my brain is functioning and the TBR piles are still taunting me, then I’ll just keep going and forgetting about housework and real life as much as possible, all to escape into the world of books! Ooh and I may have just purchased a new bookcase – only a little one! – as the storage situation is still a little out of control so now to wait until it arrives and keeping everything crossed that I measured correctly and it will fit in the gap I have available!  I think another book decluttering may be required too – but i’ll save that job for a rainy day!

On to the book thing……

BOOKS ACQUIRED

The book buying slump continues!! This is not healthy I am sure and despite managing to visit a couple of charity shops and a Waterstones this week, I returned with ZERO!  Someone send help!! Is there a recovery program I can attend??!

There may have been a visit – or two – to NetGalley though and I seem to have no problem clicking there despite my Kindle begging for a bit of breathing space so here’s a look at a couple of the titles I have now on my reading shelf…

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew Sullivan

A book about love, love of books, family and belonging.

Lydia, a 30-year-old bookshop worker, finds one of her favourite customers dead, hanging in the shop where she works, The Bright Ideas Bookstore, with a photo of her in his pocket. He has left her all his worldly belongings (which isn’t much), and a series of complex clues for her to uncover the mystery of what has happened to him – and in doing so, she must revisit a trauma from her own past, a brutal murder she witnessed as a young girl, in which the killer was never caught.

Tremarnock Summer by Emma Burstall

Bramble Challoner has had a very normal upbringing. She lives in a semi in the suburbs of London with her parents and works at the call centre down the road. She still goes out with the boy she met at school. At weekends they stay in and watch films on the telly and sometimes hold hands. Bramble is dying for an adventure.

So when her very grand grandfather, Lord Penrose, dies, leaving his huge, rambling house in Cornwall to her, Bramble packs her bags immediately.

With her best friend Katie in tow, the sleepy village of Tremarnock had better be ready for its newest residents…

The Summer of Second Chances by Maddie Please

The Summer of Second Chances is the perfect feelgood summer read.’ Chrissie Manby, author of What I Did On My Holidays

Lottie is about to discover that even when you think you’ve lost everything, hope and romance can be just around the corner . . .

It takes time to build your life. To get into a long-term (OK, a bit boring) relationship. To find a job (you don’t completely hate). Lottie might not be thrilled with the life she’s put together, but it’s the one she’s got.

So when in the course of one terrible evening, it all comes crashing down around her, Lottie has a choice: give herself over to grief at being broke, single and completely lacking in prospects.

Or, brick by brick, build herself a new life. And this time, with a little help from friends, a crumbling cottage in Devon and a handsome stranger, maybe she can make it the one she always wanted.

The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell

Inspired by the work of Shirley Jackson and Susan Hill and set in a crumbling country mansion, The Silent Companions is an unsettling gothic ghost story to send a shiver down the spine…

Newly married, newly widowed Elsie is sent to see out her pregnancy at her late husband’s crumbling country estate, The Bridge.

With her new servants resentful and the local villagers actively hostile, Elsie only has her husband’s awkward cousin for company. Or so she thinks. But inside her new home lies a locked room, and beyond that door lies a two-hundred-year-old diary and a deeply unsettling painted wooden figure – a Silent Companion – that bears a striking resemblance to Elsie herself..

BOOKS READ

Yay for sunshine and hot temperatures!! Managed to get through 8 books this week, some of which I had started a while ago and finally got around to finishing! It’s a tactic that doesn’t always work (having so many books on the go!), but when it does it makes you look mighty impressive on the reading front!! A mixed bag again this week of genres and results in enjoyment!  Click on the title for the link to my GoodReads review if you want to find out more about each book!

Fierce Kingdom by Gin Phillips  4 stars

The Forever House by Veronica Henry   5 stars

Girl, Reading by Katie Ward   3 stars

Mist & Whispers by C.M Lucas   3 stars

After I’ve Gone by Linda Green   3 stars

 
Phew!!  Hope you have a cuppa while you’re scrolling through this nonsense today!! I’m on my second cuppa as I’m typing!!  
 
CURRENTLY READING
 
one little blast before I leave you all in peace just to share what I’m currently reading… that’s if you care!
 

 
My Neighbour Totoro – The Novel
 
I love the film so had to start on the book and it is a beauty inside and out!!
 

House. Tree. Person by Catriona McPherson
 
A year ago, she was happily married, running her beauty salon, raising her son, living in her dream house. Now Ali McGovern’s dreams are slipping away and all her old ghosts are rising.

A job at Howell Hall, the private psychiatric facility nearby, seems too good to be true. Why have they employed her? How can they afford her? And what are they hiding? When a body is discovered in a shallow grave on Ali’s first day at work, it feels like one last horror. But it’s just the beginning of her descent into a nightmare world she never imagined existed, far too close to home.

 
Due for release September 2017
 
 
 
 
Hope you’ve managed to stay awake during that ramble! I apologise profusely and wish you all a fabulous weekend ahead full of lots of reading or book buying adventures!!
 
HAPPY READING!!
Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

