Posted in books, review

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling – book review

THE BLURB

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl, manager of London’s first romance-only bookshop Happy Ever, and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and quite happy hiding in the office and lying to her friends about her fictional boyfriend Peter, whose presence is very useful for getting her out of social events.

But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Because ‘Peter’ is actually Johnny, and he too could use a fictional girlfriend. So against her better judgement and because she can’t stand sitting on the sad singles table, Verity and Johnny decide to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, culminating in her sister’s Big Fat Wedding.

And by the end of the summer, there’s a bad case of heartache that even Verity’s beloved Pride And Prejudice might not be able to cure…

Amazon UK

MY REVIEW

I loved the first in this series so was eagerly anticipating falling in love again with the characters and settings in this one – and I wasn’t disappointed! The perfect romance read, full of lots of lovely bookish references and hope for all of those who believe in love finding a way, no matter what obstacles you may put in the way!!

This is the story of Verity Love who knows runs the Happy Ever After bookshop, and it’s still nice to catch up with the other old characters from the previous story who became like friends after reading the first in the series! Although this still can be read and enjoyed as a standalone!

Verity is the epitomy of an introvert, preferring the company of books and her rather fabulous but needy cat, Strumpet, and just a few close friends. She likes having routines and one of those is dining along in a nearby restaurant where even the owner knows her needs as a diner!

The problem she has is convincing her friends that she’s happy this way, and has pretended to have the most fabulous boyfriend, who exists only in her dreams. So when she meets a fellow single diner in the restaurant one day, Johnny, who helps her out of a sticky situation, they soon find that they both could use each other as their ‘fake other halves’ to keep their friends and families from sticking their beaks in!

I loved how their friendship evolves, and how they open up to each other about issues they both have. Johnny is a dreamboat of a ‘boyfriend’ although I did find him a little bit of a wet weekend at times when he kept going on about the woman he loved and lost – but still wanted! But they were still always there for each other when needed for social occasions and they brought out some interesting events to enjoy!

Verity and her family and friends were all fabulous characters, her sisters particularly were so funny, and i loved all the Pride and Prejudice references – so much so that I’m going to have to read it once more to enjoy it again for myself!

It also gave great insight into how being an introvert affected her on a day to day basis, and how she needed calm and peace to reset herself every now and then – very difficult to do in this fast paced, noisy world we know we live in. It gave you great empathy as a reader with her as a character

A really fabulous read and I am hoping there will be more in the series as I love the characters and the bookshop setting!

Thankyou to the publishers and NetGalley for the e-copy in return for a fair and honest review.

Advertisements

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s