Posted in books

Down the TBR Hole #1

Hello!  I have been inspired by a post I saw over at Lost In A Story which has been started to help you gain control over your GoodReads TBR list!!  Mine is completely out of control and not even up to date, so I am hoping that this little task – every now and then, when i remember! – will help me get back on top of things and focus my reading intentions for the future!!  Here’s how it all works!

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
What could be simpler?!  So I’m going to go for 10 as my list is apparently 267 strong – and many more haven’t been added oops! – so drastic measures are required!! Let’s see what interesting titles I’ve added and forgotten about!!
 

 City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
 
I have enjoyed The Mortal Instruments series so far and had this paperback bought for me for my birthday quite a while back and I think the size of it has put me off starting it! But it needs to be started!! Before I completely forget what happened in the previous books!
  
Judgement – KEEP!
 

 
The Shining by Stephen King
 
Won a copy of this in a GoodReads Giveaway, and it was another one of my book pledges to read more Stephen King! Failed so far haha!!  This needs to change!
 
Judgement – KEEP!
 

 
 
Murder by Sarah Pinborough
This is the second in the series and I gave the first book 4 stars so why haven’t I started on this one yet then?! Maybe the reviews have put me off as it seems to have created a bit of a hit and miss reaction!
Judgement – KEEP … to give it a chapter or two!

Great Britain’s Great War by Jeremy Paxman

Another GoodReads Giveaway win, and a signed copy no less too!  Another pledge of mine was to read more non-fiction…..
Judgement – KEEP!

Wild Wood by Posie Graeme-Evans
 
We all have those books on our shelves that we don’t even remember adding right?! This is one of those books!  And if I have no recollection of why a book interested me, then maybe it is time to get tough…
Judgement – GO!!

Daughter by Jane Shemilt
 
The paperback of this has sat on my shelf for some time now! One of those books that there was a lot of fuss about at the time, so I wanted in but have never felt the urge to pick it up since!
Judgement  – GO!!

The Boy who Killed Demons by Dave Zeltserman

I often think someone else has been compiling my TBR pile list instead of me!!  Absolutely no idea why this book ended up on my list and reading through the blurb it doesn’t sound like it needs to remain!

Judgement – GO!!

The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig

I think this was added around the Hunger Games time as there seemed to be a rush of similar kind of books that I wanted to try but I think I may have had my fill of Dystopia for a while as it has remained on my shelf never to be picked up…

Judgement – GO!!

The Other Me by Saskia Sarginson

OK, I think my memory may have been wiped!!! Or I’m looking at someone elses’ TBR list!!  Does sound an interesting storyline but as I have too many others on my list I think there isn’t enough of a pull for it to stay!

Judgement – GO!!

The Circle by Sara B. Elfgren & Mats Strandberg

I do love a story featuring witches and magic and had totally forgotten about this one that had me quite excited when I added it as it had received rave reviews at the time!  Reading through some of the other reviews it does seem to provoke extreme reactions one way or the other, so it might get a few chapters to give it a try!

Judgement – KEEP!

 

OOh so that was good fun!! And has shown me how completely disorganised my TBR shelf is over at GoodReads so I need to up my game on sorting it all out and this has proved a wonderful way of getting me started!! Has anyone else tried this method? Should I have kept some of those I’ve binned?!  I can be swayed to put them back haha!!

Looking forward to the next blitz already!

HAPPY READING!!
Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

8 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #1

    1. Don’t be that impressed! It just shows me how completely unorganised I’ve become at adding ‘tbr’ books to my goodreads pile! That job has now gone on my to do list so the number will be increasing – and making me cry as it goes up haha!! You may have convinced me to save Daughter for now then! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

