Posted in books

Down the TBR hole #2

I’m back!! And it is time to get organised again!!  Really enjoyed taking part in this post which was started by Lia @ Lost in a Story  so am going to continue in the hope that my GoodReads shelves will start to make some sense and I can then be streamlined in my reading intentions!! 

It becomes so easy as a reader and blogger to just keep adding titles to your ‘virtual’ and real life bookshelves, until you reach a point where you end up buying duplicates of books you already have, and you seem to spend more time trying to decide what to read next and losing track of how long a certain book has been in your possession!

After my 1st post I had a really good sort through on GoodReads which seemed to take forever! Half of the titles I couldn’t even remember adding, so I think they may have gone on for Giveaways that I’d entered on the site!! So they’ve all now come off and I’ve only left titles on that in actual book form or in Kindle form (well, some of them anway as i still have a few(!) more to add……..so the pile is now 420!!  Eeek!!  No wonder I have had to purchase another little bookcase recently and I’m hoping this will kick me on to start letting go of more books that I hold on to for no apparent reason!! The local charity shops are going to love me if I can be strong enough and stop the book hoarding!!  So here’s another 10 books from my ‘TBR’ list that need to be dealt with! 

Here is how it all works….

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Easy eh!  Right on we go….click on the book title for a link straight to the GoodReads page to find out more about each book!

The Death House by Sarah Pinborough

I remember being quite excited by this when it was released, but obviously not excited enough to read it straight away!!! I’m still a little conflicted after seeing some differing views about it and that is kind of putting me off wanting to even start it and with so many other books to read i think my decision is made..

Judgement – GO!!

The Lost Swimmer by Ann Turner

 
I was recommended this by a good friend and the cover is such a stunner that I had to get it straight away and it’s been sat on my bookshelf in my bedroom ever since!   Reading the blurb again has just got me all excited to read it once more though so it will definitely be pushed up the TBR pile!
 
Judgement – KEEP!!
 

 
 
I adored A Man Called Ove so whenever this author has another book out I immediately get a copy and this just sounded so wonderful when it was first released! The reviews all seem pretty stunning too!
 
Judgement – KEEP!!
 

 
 
I’m going to be very honest here and say the only reason I bought a copy of this book was that it had green pages!!  And gold on the cover! Yes i am that shallow!!  So it looks very lovely on my bookshelf!! The reviews seem very hit and miss with this one so I think it might be one of those that I I will either love or hate so needs to be given a chance!
 
Judgement – KEEP!! …for now! 😉
 

 
 
When God Was a Rabbit was one of my favourite reads a while back, so I am always interested in seeing what the author of a fave book does next.   And any book with a magical element is normally high on my reading list but I just never seem to have got round to being pulled in to reading this and I think it’s time to get tough…
 
Judgement  – GO!!
 

 
 
I won a proof of this way back when, and it is a bit of a beast of a book page count wise, and I think that has always put me off!  The reviews seem mostly positive so I think I’m going to be brave and attack those pages!!
 
Judgement – KEEP!!
 

 
 
I have the paperback version of this and it is another one I’ve heard many good things about but just never made me want to jump in and read it straight away! I think I need to start being tougher…
 
Judgement – GO!!
 

 
 
something a little different than my normal reads, and it was won via the GoodReads giveaway competition page and also came with a CD which I thought was a nice touch!  If the songs on the CD are anything to go by, then I’m going to really enjoy this book!
 
Judgement – KEEP!!
 

 
 
I really enjoyed Lily’s House by this author so think this was added to my Kindle around that time as I wanted to read more of her work!! Reading over the blurb and reviews though has left me a little conflicted as to whether this book is for me.
 
Judgement – GO!!
 

 
 
I do love a good historical fiction book and the blurb for this drew me in.  I’ve not read anything from this author before and she seems to have quite a following so am always interested in finding new authors
 
Judgement – KEEP!!
 
Wahoo!!  This being organised lark is fun isn’t it!!! Just wish it could carry over into other aspects of my life!!  Am loving being reminded of books I’d forgotten about and I’m really finding it a great help in becoming more selective over what I read!
 
Any decisions I’ve made that are wrong??! Always happy to be persuaded to either keep a book, or lose one of those that have made the cut!! Please feel free to comment!!
HAPPY READING!! 
Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

