Posted in books

Down the TBR Hole #3

I’m back!  Time to get organised again! Well, at least pretend to in the hope that my book buying habits can be curtailed by going back over to my TBR list on GoodReads and realising that I just can’t possibly read ALL THE BOOKS!!  Hey, but it’s fun trying!! 😉

Very grateful to Lia @ Lost In A Story for thinking this little exercise up!!

Here is how it all works….

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
Click on the title if you’d like to read the blurb for each book via GoodReads…
 
 
Ready? Steady? GO!!!
 
 
 

I loved A Home in Sunset Bay by Rebecca, so I put this on my TBR as this is her debut. It just sounds like a fabulous escapism read – perfect for a summer day!

Verdict – KEEP!

Silently Still by Julieanne Lynch

I have heard good reports of this book from a few friends so put it on my TBR pile quite a while ago. Not sure why I’ve not picked it up yet although maybe the emotional element is putting me off a little! Maybe I’ll save it for the Autumn!

Verdict – KEEP!

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Got the hardback version of this as it just sounds like a fabulous read – and it looks gorgeous too!

Verdict  – KEEP!!

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler

Having read the prequel to this – The Mermaid Girl – I had to rush out and get this once I’d finished as I loved the style of writing and the setting so will definitely be bumping this up my TBR pile!

Verdict – KEEP!!

The Story of Us by Dani Atkins

Another book where I enjoyed another from the author – Fractured – so I was intrigued to read more. Obviously not that intrigued as I’ve not been tempted to start reading it yet!

Verdict – GO!!

After You by JoJo Moyes

Me Before You was one of those books that was such a outstanding read that to know there’s more of the story to be told was a big draw for adding this to my TBR… but the more reviews I read and the more I hear from others, the more I’m tempted to skip this and leave it well alone!

Verdict – GO!!

The Marble Collector by Cecilia Ahern

I was bought this for Christmas when it was first released so it has been watching over me from my bookshelves ever since! I do enjoy Cecilia Ahern and her books so am sure I will get round to this sooner rather than later

Verdict – KEEP!!

Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume

A book with a dog in it!  How can I not have read this yet?!  I’m a sucker for a story featuring animals and this has received some rave reviews from friends I know who’ve read it…

Verdict – KEEP!!

Jonathan Unleashed by Meg Rosoff

I read How I Live Now and enjoyed that so only added this to my TBR list due to the author.  It hasn’t really grabbed my interest again though as I read through the blurb again though so time to be tough…

Verdict – GO!!

The Watcher in the Shadows by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

I love this author and found a hardback copy in a local charity shop.  Know very little about the story itself but still intrigued to read it!

Verdict – KEEP!!

All done!! All organised for another week!! I love how this method is making me revisit books that I’ve long forgotten about!  And how it has made me itching to read other books that have been languishing hidden for so long!! 

If only there were more hours in the day!!

HAPPY READING!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

2 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #3

Leave a Reply

