Posted in books, review

My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up!!

Hello lovely bookish folk!  I trust we are all well and had another week full of bookish fun!!  Seems to have been another productive one for me on the book front – if only the rest of my life was as productive!!  

Been busy here book reading, book receiving, book buying, book blogging and book decluttering!!  The ever changing weather has helped I think on the reading front as I’ve not been able to potter much in the garden thanks to the wind and rain – the dahlias are blooming well though!

Right, on we go with the wrap up! Click on the book titles for links to GoodReads blurbs and reviews!

BOOKS FINISHED

How to Stop Time by Matt Haig  –  3 stars

The Butterfly Storm by Kate Frost   –  2 stars

 

Only True in Fairy Tales by Christine Stovell   –  4 stars

Too Damn Nice by Kathryn Freeman   –  5 stars

Nice little mix of genres as normal, and a mix of reading experiences this week too! 

BOOK HAUL

I’Ve kept the postman busy this week with a few arrivals! Most have been kindly sent my way from the publishers but 2 may have been treats to myself – and why not!!! 😉

The two I treated myself to ;

I really enjoyed Eleanor Oliphant by Gail Honeyman and was lucky to read and review it through NetGalley, so had to treat myself to the hardback copy so I can enjoy it all over again!

And then there is Soot by Andrew Martin which I’ve seen good things about and it looks a fascinating read so hoping to read that soon!  It also fitted in nicely with my Mono Book Buying Spree! 😉

And for reviewing I’ve been lucky to receive the following books;

What She Left by Rosie Fiore   –   out August 17th 2017

Helen Cooper has a charmed life. She’s beautiful, accomplished, organised – the star parent at the school. Until she disappears.

But Helen wasn’t abducted or murdered. She’s chosen to walk away, abandoning her family, husband Sam, and her home.

Where has Helen gone, and why? What has driven her from her seemingly perfect life? What is she looking for? Sam is tormented by these questions, and gradually begins to lose his grip on work and his family life.

He sees Helen everywhere in the faces of strangers. He’s losing control.

But then one day, it really is Helen’s face he sees..

The Death of Her by Debbie Howells – out August 24th 2017

The Death of Her is a haunting psychological thriller from Debbie Howells, author of the bestselling Richard and Judy Book Club success The Bones of You.

A woman’s body is discovered on a Cornish farm, battered and left for dead in a maize field. Airlifted to hospital, her life hanging in the balance, no one’s sure who she is. Three days later she comes round, but her memory is damaged. She knows her name – Evie – but no more, until she remembers another name. Angel – her three-year-old daughter.

As the police circulate Evie’s photo, someone recognizes her. Charlotte knew her years ago, at school, when another child went missing. Leah Danning, who vanished whilst in Evie’s care.

When the police search Evie’s home, there’s no sign of Angel. More disturbingly, there’s no evidence that she ever lived there, forcing the police to question whether Evie’s having some kind of breakdown.

But even from the darkest place she’s ever known, Evie believes her daughter is alive. The police remain unconvinced – unaware that on the fringes of Evie’s life, there’s someone else. Someone hidden, watching her every move, with their own agenda and their own twisted version of reality.

Which to read first??!! Never gets any easier choosing does it!

CURRENTLY READING

I’m a little bit all over the place at the moment with my current reads! I’m trying to make dents in a couple of reading challenges I’m taking part in, have just set up to take part in ARC August and am also trying to get my NetGalley shelf to look a little less full!  So that has thrown me a little in trying to decide what books to read so I have a number started when really i probably should just be focusing on one or two!

The Silk Weaver’s Wife by Debbie Rix

Started this yesterday and loving what I’ve read so far! Hoping to finish this either today or tomorrow!

Living Dangerously by Katie Fforde

This was a recent purchase at the local church fete.  Have loved other books by this author but this one is taking me a little time to get into! Just hoping it improves soon!

An Unlikely Agent by Jane Menczer

A purchase from Nudge Books and I’m really enjoying the writing style and whole set up behind this one!

And there we have it!  All wrapped up nicely! I do like this way of doing things as it keeps things clear in my mind – whether you enjoy reading it or not is another matter LOL!! It helps my poor little foggy brain keep track of things… well, for a few hours anyway!!

HAPPY READING!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

2 thoughts on “My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up!!

Leave a Reply

