Posted in books

Down the TBR Hole #4

Greetings!! Back today with another little Down the TBR Hole excursion!  I’m really aware now I’m doing this and finding it is stopping me adding so many ‘random’ books to the TBR pile so it is already paying dividends.. .whether I can keep up this good behaviour is another matter! But it’s fun being a good girl for a while at least!!  

Very grateful to Lia @ Lost In A Story for thinking this little exercise up to help us all keep our growing TBR lists in some kind of order and under control!!  Let’s see what I find that I’d forgotten about this week…


Here is how it all works….

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Click on the title if you’d like to read the blurb for each book via GoodReads…

Ready? Steady? GO!!!

The First 15 Lives of Harry August by Claire North

I bought the hardback of this book as I remember hearing good things to begin with and it sounds like a really intriguing plot

Verdict – KEEP!

The Three by Sarah Lotz

According to my GoodReads record I have this in hardback form… ok then so where have I hidden it around the house?! LOL!!  This had me intrigued from the blurb as it sounds like a real mystery although reading through some of the reviews has me a little worried!  This might be a ‘read for a few chapters and see what I think’ kind of book

Verdict – KEEP …for now, if I can find it!

The Watchers by Neil Spring

This book is based on actual events and I’ve always been fascinated by UFO’s so this is what got me interested in reading this book in the first place

Verdict – KEEP!

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

I got this after I read The Muse, which I loved, and not sure why I’ve not found time to read it yet as it did seem to receive a lot of hype when it was first released..

Verdict – KEEP!

13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

I’ve read a number of this authors’ books and am a fan, although I was slightly annoyed at the ending of ‘Behind Her Eyes’ which has just got me mad again just thinking about it! So that is slightly putting me off starting this one in case it’s another book that makes me mad.

Verdict – GO!

The Christmas Cafe by Amanda Prowse

Getting quite seasonal with a few festive books beginning to appear!  One of those books that appealed to me at the time but doesn’t seem to be a big enough of a pull to make me pick it up!

Verdict – GO!!

Finding the Snowdon Lily by Heather Pardoe

This is a short little novella by Endeavour Press and I was attracted to it because of the stunning cover and the blurb so hoping to get to read this very soon!

Verdict – KEEP!

183 Times a Year by Eva Jordan

Heard nothing but good things about this one and have a copy thanks to Urbane Publications Book Club so this is on my pile to read this year… hopefully!

Verdict – KEEP!

The Sentinel by Holly Martin

I have loved reading all of Holly Martins’ books so am intrigued to read this one as it sounds like a good mix of YA, sci-fi and mystery!

Verdict – KEEP!!

My So Called (Love) Life by A.L. Michael

I read Goodbye Ruby Tuesday from this author and really enjoyed it so that is when I added this one to the pile!  Sounds like an entertaining read so could be perfect for a sunny afternoon in the garden, or a rainy night indoors!

Verdict – KEEP!!

And that is another 10 books all sorted and organised!!  Don’t think I’ve got rid of as many as I would have liked but maybe the next 10 I go through will turn up some likelier candidates! Or maybe I just need to get tougher on my choices!!

HAPPY READING!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

One thought on “Down the TBR Hole #4

Leave a Reply

