Posted in books

Down the TBR Hole #7

I have returned to blitz my bookshelves!!  My organising  has gone a little off track in the past couple of weeks, so I’m sat here watching Agent Carter (another one of those shows that I loved and they cancelled it way too early!!) and making a to do list again of all I want to sort out! And top of the list is books!! As always!!  So time to see if I can reduce the TBR mountain to a TBR hill……. I’m not holding out much hope but a girl can dream!!

Very grateful to Lia @ Lost In A Story for thinking this little exercise up to help us all keep our growing TBR lists in some kind of order and under control!!  Let’s see what goodies/awful titles I’d wiped from my memory this time round……


Here is how it all works….

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Click on the title if you’d like to read the blurb for each book via GoodReads…

These Days of Ours by Juliet Ashton

Think I must have added this to the list through a GoodReads competition – you know when they make you add it to your TBR list in order to get an entry?! – and I do love the cover but re-reading the blurb hasn’t made me want to rush to read it.

Verdict – GO!

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Camille Rose Garcia version

Stumbled across these versions of classic books that have been illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia and adore the style she uses so had to rush out and start creating my own collection! And any excuse to re-read Alice in Wonderland is always fine by me!!

Verdict – KEEP!!

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Sold to me on the basis that it is the perfect read for geeks who loved the 80’s and 90’s, how could I say no!!  And now there is a movie to be released very soon… definitely need to bump it up the TBR pile!!

Verdict – KEEP!!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Always love a good fantasy series and I have heard rave things about this – but then I’ve also heard not so rave reviews so I’m a little bit concerned it could be a marmite read! I’ll either love it or hate it!! Only time will tell I guess!

Verdict – KEEP!!

The Olive Branch by Jo Thomas

Got this as a summer read as I do love a story that is set in sunnier lands, and of those that try something new in their life.  But just haven’t been tempted to dive in.

Verdict – GO!!

The Silk Merchant’s Daughter by Dinah Jefferies

I adored The Separation and The Tea Planter’s Wife from this author so have been eager to read anything she releases so hoping this lives up to her previous standards!

Verdict – KEEP!!

Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

I am not a big horror fan!!  In fact I’m a big scaredy cat! But I always intend to try some more in the horror genre so I heard good reports about this one – and then the reviews scared me so I’ve put off starting to read it!!  Maybe I should save it for Halloween?!

Verdict – KEEP!!

The Ballroom by Anna Hope

Bought this not long after finishing Wake by this author, as that was a wondeful tale, and I loved the blurb off this one so another that needs to be bumped up the TBR pile!!

Verdict – KEEP!!

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

Another book I’ve been recommended by friends to read and the start of a series that seems to get nothing but praise!  Do love a good mystery!

Verdict – KEEP!!

The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela

One of those books that I felt I should read at the time it was released, but not sure it will be my kind of thing now I’m re-reading the blurb

Verdict – GO!!

And another blitz on the shelves is over! Wahoo!!!  And yet more books that need bumping up the TBR pile that I’d forgotten all about!  Nice to see a good mix of genres again in the list! I’m always concerned when I look back at books I’ve added that they’re all going to be a little too alike but it seems that my random attitude towards books continues!!

HAPPY READING!!

Author:

Avid Reader. Reviewer. Book hoarder. Bunny Owner. Football Fan. Gardener. M.E sufferer. Cross Stitching Addict

Leave a Reply

