My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up – 7th September 2019 #bookblogger

Hello all!  Another week flies by! Anyone spotted any Christmas goodies in the shops yet?! I’ve noticed an increase in the number of Christmas theme books being advertised… there is no escape!

On to the bookish front of my week – and it’s been fairly productive!  4 books have been finished, 0 have been grabbed from Netgalley, 2 books arrived by post and then I went browsing in the library and left with 3 books from there!

BOOKS FINISHED

 The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E Harrow – 4 stars

A book about a book and magical doors!! Wonderful! Full review to follow on blog tour

EFFIN’ BIRDS by AARON REYNOLDS – 5 effin stars!!

Hilarious!! But if you’re easily offended, then this book isn’t for you!

Have you ever looked a bird dead in the eye and wondered what it was thinking?

With Effin Birds, the most eagerly anticipated new volume in the noble avocation of bird identification, you can venture into nature with confidence. This farcical field guide will help you identify over 200 birds, but more importantly, for the first time in history, it will also help you understand what these birds are thinking:

  • The vainglorious grebe is acutely aware of its own magnificence.
  • The hipster pelican thinks the world is a sh*tbarge.
  • The overbearing heron wishes you better luck next time, f*cknuts.
  • The counsellor swallow wants you to maybe try not being a d*ckhead.

Alongside beautiful, scientifically accurate illustrations and a whole lot of swearing is incisive commentary on modern life and the world we, as humans, must navigate. Or maybe it s just some pictures of effin birds, okay?

THE GIRL WHO COULD MOVE SH*T WITH HER MIND by JACKSON FORD – 4 stars

More fun in this book – and more swearing too! Great adventure!

DON’T THINK A SINGLE THOUGHT by DIANA CAMBRIDGE – 4 stars

out 26th September – Louise Walters Books

Stylish and tragic in equal measures

BOOKHAUL

I received my copy of Effin’ Birds this week from Unbound as I was one of the supporters who pledged for the book to be made – check my name out in the subscriber list at the back of the book if you get hold of a copy! And I also received an early copy of Don’t Think A Single Thought from Louise Walters Books as I’ve signed up as supporter of her books too! Well worth checking out!

Books from the library….

OF MICE AND MEN by JOHN STEINBECK

Streetwise George and his big, childlike friend Lennie are drifters, searching for work in the fields and valleys of California. They have nothing except the clothes on their back, and a hope that one day they’ll find a place of their own and live the American dream. But dreams come at a price. Gentle giant Lennie doesn’t know his own strength, and when they find work at a ranch he gets into trouble with the boss’s daughter-in-law. Trouble so bad that even his protector George may not be able to save him…

MR GODLEY’S PHANTOM by MAL PEET

A haunting masterpiece from storyteller Mal Peet. Part ghost story, part detective novel and part something else entirely, Mr Godley’s Phantom is something of an enigma, with its own distinctive fifties flavour of cigarettes, petrol and mystery.

THIS CENSUS-TAKER by CHINA MIEVILLE

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, and Karen Russell, This Census Taker is the poignant and uncanny new novella from award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly deranged parent. When a stranger knocks on his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation are over—but by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? Is he the boy’s friend? His enemy? Or something altogether other?

CURRENTLY READING

I am currently between books…. shock!! So I’m deciding whether to read ahead for some blog tours, or use this time wisely and catch up on some of my own books….. the struggle is real! So, knowing me, I’ll be ending up at Netgalley and adding to my shelves there instead!! 😉

HAPPY READING!!

#BlogTour A PARIS FAIRY TALE by MARIE LAVAL #BookReview #Giveaway @rararesources @ChocLituk

A huge delight today to be the latest stop on the wonderful Bog Tour for A PARIS FAIRY TALE by MARIE LAVAL. My thanks to the author, publisher and Rachel of  Rachel’s Random Resources for letting me be part of it all.  And there’s a gorgeous giveaway to take part in too so scroll down for further details!!

ABOUT THE BOOK

A Paris Fairy Tale Is Paris the city of happily ever afters?

Workaholic art historian Aurora Black doesn’t have time for fairy tales or Prince Charmings, even in the most romantic city in the world. She has recently been hired by a Parisian auction house for a job that could make or break her career. Unfortunately, daredevil journalist Cédric Castel seems intent on disrupting Aurora’s routine.

As Aurora and Cédric embark on a journey across France, they get more than they bargained for as they find themselves battling rogue antiques dealers and personal demons, not to mention a growing attraction to each other.

But with the help of a fairy godmother or two, could they both find their happily ever afters

Purchase Links:

 Amazon UK

Amazon US

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Originally from Lyon in France, Marie now lives in Lancashire with her family. She works full-time as a modern languages teacher and in her spare time she loves writing romance and dreaming about romantic heroes. She writes both historical and contemporary romance. Her historical romance The Lion’s Embrace won the Gold Medal at the Global Ebook Awards 2015 (category Historical Romance), and best-selling Little Pink Taxi was her debut romantic comedy novel with Choc Lit. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and the Society of Authors. Her native France, as well as her passion for history and research,

Social Media Links

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

GIVEAWAY

Giveaway to Win a ‘I love Paris’ Keyring, and a medieval necklace (handmade from a copy of an illuminated manuscript) – UK Only

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

CLICK TO ENTER

MY REVIEW

Swoon! A book that has every base covered – gorgeous setting, go-getting characters, history, mystery, romance and thriller vibes! What more could you want from a book?! I loved every page!!

Aurora is committed to her work and she is a much respected art historian, which means she travels all over delving into the past. She finds herself in Paris at the request of a top auction house and she wants to prove that she is worthy of the work they are trusting her with. Romance is the last thing on her mind!

She soon comes across the path of Cedric who is a journalist used to getting his own way and never taking no as an answer. When he sniffs out a story it is just coincidence that Aurora may be getting in his way! He wants to do a story on the work she does – she disagree but soon finds that having Cedric around might help her out when things start to take a sinister turn as she finds out more about the manuscript at the centre of her work.

I really love Aurora as a character – so devoted to her work and  not easily distracted but you do notice chinks in her armour when things begin to turn a little darker and the truth about her past comes to light and you totally understand what is pushing her to do well in her work.

And she is reluctant to take a chance on people considering she has been lied to and had her trust in others shattered so when Cedric shows up, you understand her reluctance to let him into her life – even if he does seem to appear when she needs him the most.

Aurora and Cedric are such wonderful main characters to follow – devoted to their jobs but also quite playful with their banter and I loved being in their company! There are twists and turns galore and the pace really builds up nicely towards the end as things came to a head!  A wonderfully modern fairy tale!!

★★★★★