My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up – 11th December 2021



Hello and Happy Saturday!! Still awaiting the festive mood to hit me LOL! Not even put the tree up – yet! Maybe this weekend I’ll make the effort! Need to have somewhere for Santa to leave all the books he’s going to bring me eh?! LOL!!
On to books it’s been an ok week on the book front!  3 books finished, 3 newbies added to my Netgalley shelf (oops!) and 1 book I treated myself to!
Here’s my look back


BOOKS FINISHED

B: A YEAR IN PLAGUES AND PENCILS by EDWARD CAREY – 5 STARS

THE LOST PROMISE OF IRELAND by SUSANNE O’LEARY – 4 STARS

CHRISTMAS WITH THE RAILWAY GIRLS by MAISIE THOMAS – 5 STARS

BOOKHAUL


Starting over at Netgalley…


THE GARDEN BY THE SEA by AMANDA JAMES

publication date – 14th January 2022

A heartwarming novel of new beginnings, community and finding your tribe when you need them the most…

A precious heirloom passed down from mother to daughter…

Lowena Rowe’s beloved mum always claimed her family seed box was special. Said to contain soil from Tintagel, the mysterious seat of the legendary King Arthur, whomever made a wish upon the box would have ‘a beautiful garden, bountiful crops and love of their fellow man’. Lowena isn’t inclined to believe the myth but can’t part with the box, knowing how much it meant to her mum.

Starting over with a new home and a new job in the Cornish village of St Merryn, Lowena can’t help feeling lost and alone… but she isn’t the only one. Now, as a community of misfits finds solace and friendship in the shade of her growing garden, she realises there might have been truth to the mythical box after all, and she may just be growing the life and love she’s always wanted…

HOTEL PORTOFINO by J.P.O’CONNELL

publication date – 23rd December 2021

A heady historical drama about a British family who open an upper-class hotel on the magical Italian Riviera during the ‘Roaring 20s’.

Hotel Portofino has been open for only a few weeks, but already the problems are mounting for its owner Bella Ainsworth. Her high-class guests are demanding and hard to please. And she’s being targeted by a scheming and corrupt local politician, who threatens to drag her into the red-hot cauldron of Mussolini’s Italy.

To make matters worse, her marriage is in trouble, and her children are still struggling to recover from the repercussions of the Great War. All eyes are on the arrival of a potential love match for her son Lucian, but events don’t go to plan, which will have far reaching consequences for the whole family.

Set in the breathtakingly beautiful Italian Riviera, Hotel Portofino is a story of personal awakening at a time of global upheaval and of the liberating influence of Italy’s enchanting culture, climate and cuisine on British ‘innocents abroad’, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown.

FIRST BORN by WILL DEAN

publication date – April 2022

From the acclaimed author of The Last Thing to Burn, a psychological thriller about the dark secrets that emerge when a woman’s twin sister is murdered, with his signature “intense, gripping, taut, terrifying, moving, and brilliant” (Lisa Jewell, #1 New York Times bestselling author) prose.

Sisters. Soulmates. Strangers.

Molly Raven lives a quiet, structured life in London, finding comfort in security and routine. Her identical twin Katie, living in New York, is the exact opposite: outgoing, spontaneous, and adventurous.

But when Molly hears that Katie has died, possibly murdered, she is thrown into unfamiliar territory. As terrifying as it is, she knows she must travel across the ocean and find out what happened. But as she tracks her twin’s final movements, cracks begin to emerge, and she slowly realizes her sister was not who she thought she was and there’s a dangerous web of deceit surrounding the two of them.

And I treated myself to this beauty from FAHRENHEIT PRESS for the festive period!


THE NUTCRACKER by  E.T.A.HOFFMAN

“A glimmer of pure Christmas joy…” – The Guardian 

Before the birth of the ballet, there was the book.

On Christmas Eve, Fritz and Marie await the arrival of Godfather Drosselmeier and the marvellous gifts he brings for them every year. Among the presents Marie discovers a curious Nutcracker doll and is transported into a magical world of sugar-frosted castles and chocolate kings where her favourite toy battles the nefarious Mouse King in a battle that takes the reader on an adventure into a magical land of dolls & toys.

The tale of The Nutcracker was written by E.T.A. Hoffmann in 1816 and has fascinated and inspired artists, composers, and audiences for almost two hundred years.

It’s probably most famous for the ballet with music composed by Tchaikovsky which has now become a staple of theatres and concert halls all around the world at Christmas.

Brought to you now in this beautiful contemporary collectors edition, it really will make an awesome stocking filler for adults and children alike.

CURRENTLY READING

DADDY’S GONE A-HUNTING by PENELOPE MORTIMER




HAPPY READING!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s