#BookReview PAX, JOURNEY HOME by SARA PENNYPACKER



ABOUT THE BOOK


From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes the long-awaited sequel to Pax; this is a gorgeously crafted, utterly compelling novel about chosen families and the healing power of love.

It’s been a year since Peter and his pet fox, Pax, have seen each other. Once inseparable, they now lead very different lives. Pax and his mate, Bristle, have welcomed a litter of kits they must protect in a dangerous world. Meanwhile Peter—newly orphaned after the war, wracked with guilt and loneliness—leaves his adopted home with Vola to join the Water Warriors, a group of people determined to heal the land from the scars of the war.

When one of Pax’s kits falls desperately ill, he turns to the one human he knows he can trust. And no matter how hard Peter tries to harden his broken heart, love keeps finding a way in. Now both boy and fox find themselves on journeys toward home, healing—and each other, once again.


PUBLISHED BY BALZER & BRAY

PURCHASE LINK


Amazon

MY REVIEW

Having adored the first Pax book, I was utterly delighted to find out there was a sequel and it has not disappointed! The story of Pax the fox, and Peter continues as they’ve gone their own way but that bond between them still plays a big part in both their lives.

The story is picked up a while after book one, and life is very different for both of them. Peter is unsure of his place in the world, so joins a group that is centred on cleaning up the local river to help bring it back to use for the local wildlife – finding that purpose in life allows him to confront some other issues in his life that are plaguing his thoughts.

And Pax has a family of his own now so he’s learning all about responsibility and showing that caring side. His female kit proves to be a little feisty and independent and they set off on a little adventure together which proves to be a little too testing.

Watching their paths cross again filled my heart with joy, and seeing Peter and Pax reconnecting was so touching especially seeing how much both had grown and after the heart breaking times they’d gone through in their first book. This is a story that is full of friendship, grief, trust and hope and I just found it to be another endearing and captivating story.

★★★★★

#BookReview SIXTEEN HORSES by GREG BUCHANAN #Audiobook



ABOUT THE BOOK


Sixteen horses dead. Each buried with a single eye facing the sun . . .

In the dying English seaside town of Ilmarsh, the heads of sixteen horses are found buried in circles, with only their eyes exposed to the light of the low winter sun. The local police call upon forensic veterinarian Cooper Allen to assist with this uniquely disturbing case.

In the weeks that follow, investigators uncover evidence of a chain of crimes in this community: disappearances, arson, and mutilations, all culminating in the reveal of something deadly lurking in the ground itself. And as the town panics, not everything in Ilmarsh is as it seems. . . Dark days follow, then Cooper finds herself working with local police detective Alec Nichols to uncover a frightening mystery.

A literary thriller from a stunning new talent, Sixteen Horses is about enduring guilt, trauma and punishment, set in a small seaside community the rest of the world has left behind.


PUBLISHED BY MANTLE


PURCHASE LINK


Amazon

MY REVIEW

I listened to the audio version of this book.

This is one of those books that is going to be very difficult to review! It’s a story that has a little bit of everything, and a lot of darkness ! And for a debut, it’s pretty astonishing! I did find myself more invested in the first half of the book which I lapped up at speed, but then either the story lost its’ way or my brain just couldn’t cope anymore with the changing timelines and narratives, and it disappointingly, for me, just fell away and I lost track. Maybe it’s one of those I need to go back to and read again for it all to fall in to place properly!

At the heart of the story is the mysterious discovery of 16 horse heads buried and Cooper and Alec are brought in to investigate the significance, if any, and they stumble across some very dark goings on in the past that are still haunting the locals and leads to more questions than answers. These characters are intriguing in themselves as they appear very insular and guarded so watching them slowly reveal little parts of their past is fascinating. And the whole bleakness of the community also adds to the atmosphere and it just feels like everyone has been walking around in a nightmare for many years.

This is a uniquely original kind of story and, despite the bleakness, it absorbs you as a reader as you try and unravel the mysteries and significance of the crimes as they unfold.


★★★★

#BookReview THE LITTLE SHOP OF HIDDEN TREASURES by HOLLY HEPBURN @TeamBATC

ABOUT THE BOOK


**The brand new novel from Holly Hepburn, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde.**
Originally published in four parts this is the full story in one package. 

When Hope loses her husband, she fears her happiest days are behind her. With her only connection to London broken, she moves home to York to be near her family and to begin to build a new life.  

Taking a job at the antique shop she has always admired, she finds herself crossing paths with two very different men. Will, who has recently become the guardian to his niece after the tragic death of her parents. And Ciaran, who she enlists to help solve the mystery of an Egyptian antique. Two men who represent two different happy endings.

But can she trust herself to choose the right man? And will that bring her everything she really needs?

The brand new novel from Holly Hepburn, author of Coming Home to Brightwater Bay

PUBLISHED BY SIMON & SCHUSTER

PURCHASE LINK

AMAZON

MY REVIEW

This was a wonderfully heartwarming story following Hope who is on a journey to find some happiness again, after recently losing her husband. She moves to York to be nearer family, and finds herself drawn to a little treasure trove of a shop that she was always drawn to as a child, who are advertising for a part time role! It’s almost like her destiny to be at that shop! And what a shop it is! Full of hidden treasures, and wonderful objects that always have the customers, and staff!, intrigued and ready to buy!

she’s a perfect fit for the shop as she has a great imagination which helps put a story behind each item and when Will and young Brodie enter the shop, they are smitten with all the items, especially an old puzzle box, which young Brodie helps to open – and that leads to an Egyptian mystery to be solved!

This is a story full of wonderful characters overcoming various challenges in their lives, and the need to find out more about the past revealed in the puzzle box allows them to detach a little from reality and escape into a different time and place. Just as I did as a reader as I could picture myself in the little shop and on the streets of York.

Just one of those books that you find yourself savouring every page of! Loved it!

★★★★★