Black Violet by Alex Hyland #BookReview

A MICHAEL VIOLET THRILLER

On the surface, Michael Violet is a legitimate San Francisco car dealer. But appearances can be deceiving. In reality, he’s a talented pickpocket lifting the keys to the city’s most luxurious cars.

He’s kept his criminal life secret from his journalist brother, Jon, who’s made a career out of exposing corruption. But when Jon is killed, Michael uses his talents to track down his brother’s killer.

Driven by guilt and revenge, Michael finds himself being forced into the role of the hero, whether he likes it or not.

But turning from thief to hero isn’t going to be as easy as he’d hoped…

Perfect for fans of Lee Child and  James Patterson .

Publisher Accent Press

BUYING LINKS

Amazon UK

Hive.co.uk – buy online and support a local bookstore

Book Depository

MY REVIEW

My thanks to the publisher, Accent Press, for the copy in return for a fair and honest review.

I found this to be a fast paced thriller, full of breathless pursuits, a fascinating lead character and all the elements that keep you turning the pages until it’s over!

Michael Violet is a thief! But he has made the stealing of luxury cars a fine art and manages to keep his ‘career’ as a secret. But his world changes when he hears that his brother , a journalist, has been killed at his home after a burglary gone wrong – apparently. Michael doesn’t believe this and sets out to find his brothers’ killer and this leads him to enter a whole new world, and one where he ends up trying to play the hero.

There are so many unanswered questions to why his brother was killed, and the more he investigates the darker the revelations become. He is forced to revisit his past, their childhood and face his regrets about not being in contact with his brother before his death.

I loved how the author drip fed tiny bits of information throughout each chapter. It just raised your interest with each new page, trying to join the dots and work out the links before it was all revealed! And I can’t wait for the next book in the series to see where this new life leads for Michael Violet!

The Things We Learn When We’re Dead by Charlie Laidlaw #bookreview

THE BLURB

With elements of The Wizard of Oz, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and The Lovely Bones, The Things We Learn When We’re Dead shows how small decisions can have profound and unintended consequences, and how sometimes we can get a second chance.

On the way home from a dinner party, Lorna Love steps into the path of an oncoming car. When she wakes up she is in what appears to be a hospital – but a hospital in which her nurse looks like a young Sean Connery, she is served wine for supper, and everyone avoids her questions. It soon transpires that she is in Heaven, or on HVN. Because HVN is a lost, dysfunctional spaceship, and God the aging hippy captain. She seems to be there by accident… Or does God have a higher purpose after all?

At first Lorna can remember nothing. As her memories return – some good, some bad – she realises that she has decision to make and that maybe she needs to find a way home.

Out now!

Published by Accent Press

Author on Twitter;  @claidlawauthor

Author website;  https://www.charlielaidlawauthor.com/

BUYING LINKS

Amazon UK

Hive.co.uk – buy online and support your local bookstore

Book Depository

🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

MY REVIEW

I always like it when I don’t know what to expect from a book and it surprises me in a positive way, and that is exactly how  feel now after reading this one and am amazed how such an unassuming story really connected with me so much!

Lorna Love is training to be a lawyer, but her life plan suffers a major setback when she is hit by a car and finds herself in hospital but this  is no ordinary hospital and soon she is being introduced to the facility known as HVN!  This facility though is also a spaceship where you can choose to look like whoever you choose – there are many famous faces she meets throughout – and the captain is God who is not like how you think he should be!

Lorna is then faced then with her memories slowly returning and through these flashbacks  you see how her life has progressed from childhood through to adulthood, and some of it made for unpleasant viewing from her perspective, but as a reader it was fascinating to see how her choices had shaped the person she became.  She needs to figure out the reason why she is there in HVN as God tells her that everyone is at this facility for a reason.

She is left questioning all that she knew and seeing things differently from the benefit of hindsight, and it was such a touching look back at a life especially when looking at her family time from holidays to losing people close to her. It delves into her self doubt, career choices, friendships and how your place in the world can disappear so quickly.

I found this to be quite deep in places, alongside being a fun, quirky read and some of the twists along the way had me reeling which just proved to me of how powerful and insightful the story had become and how involved I became with Lorna and her journey.  

Highly recommended!!

My thanks to the author for the copy in return for a fair and honest review.

                                                                            🚀🚀🚀🚀

#CoverReveal Only One Woman by Christina Jones/Jane Risdon

It is my great pleasure to share this stunner of a cover with you today on behalf of Accent Press! So without further ado, take a look ….

 

onewoman

💗💙💚💛💜

Two women, one love story. 

June 1968. Renza falls head over heels for heartthrob guitarist Scott. But after a romantic summer together they are torn apart when Renza’s family moves away. 

December 1968. On the night she believes to be her last, Stella meets Scott at a local dance. He’s the most beautiful boy she’s ever seen and if this one night is all they have, she’ll take it. 

As the final colourful year of the sixties dawns, the question is: can there be only one woman for Scott?

Ebook pub date: 23rd November 2017 


Print pub date: 24th May 2018 


Author Twitter handles: @bucolicfrolics(Christina Jones) and @Jane_Risdon (Jane Risdon) 


Accent Twitter handle: @AccentPress

Amazon link: Only One Woman

I’m sold already!!  Really excited to read this one very soon and have that gorgeous cover on my bookshelves ASAP!!

HAPPY READING!!