#BookReview THE WHISPER MAN by ALEX NORTH #RIPXIV

ABOUT THE BOOK

If you leave a door half-open, soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken…

Still devastated after the loss of his wife, Tom Kennedy and his young son Jake move to the sleepy village of Featherbank, looking for a fresh start.

But Featherbank has a dark past. Fifteen years ago a twisted serial killer abducted and murdered five young boys. Until he was finally caught, the killer was known as ‘The Whisper Man’.

Of course, an old crime need not trouble Tom and Jake as they try to settle in to their new home. Except that now another boy has gone missing. And then Jake begins acting strangely.

He says he hears a whispering at his window…

PUBLISHED BY MICHAEL JOSEPH

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon UK 

hive.co.uk

whsmith

MY REVIEW

If you’re lonely, sad or blue, The Whisper Man will come for you….


And that phrase just about sets the tone perfectly for this brilliantly creepy and gripping thriller, that centres around missing children and the relationship between a father and son struggling to deal with grief and how it affects them living day to day.
A little boy has gone missing in Featherbank. The police know that the longer it takes to find him, the more the possibility of a body being found and it mirrors the happenings of a case involving Frank Carter 20 years ago. He’s still in jail but the investigating officer, Pete, who caught Frank at the time is still troubled by the thought that he had an accomplice all those years ago, and a body is still missing which haunts him as he can’t give closure to that poor boys’ family. He still goes to visit Frank in the hope that he’ll slip up and reveal something but he just seems to enjoy taunting Pete and getting under his skin.
And with the disappearance of boys happening again, it looks like Pete’s hunch was right.

Tom and Jake move into the area after the death of Tom’s wife. Young Jake is a sweet little boy who was the first to see his mum after her death and that has played on his mind so he retreats into his own little world and talks to his imaginary friends. Tom just wants his boy to be normal and their relationship is often strained as he tries to do the best for him but often doesn’t know the best way to get through to him.

Their new home unsettles Tom from the start – and me too!! Hearing noises upstairs and hearing whispering outside the window would be enough to have me running for the hills!! The more he finds out about the past of the house, the more shocked he becomes and a discovery soon leads the police to his door which means more unsettling times for him and Jake.

This was such an intense read! With the different viewpoints there was always something going on – from the family viewpoint side, to the thoughts of the police and their investigations and even the occasional soundbite from the ‘killer’ and what the boys mean to him – it was just all such compounding stuff that I was often afraid to read on, scared of what else might be lurking round the corner! I’m glad I did though as it was full of the right amount of tension and chills and a great backstory playing alongside which made for a terrifying but engrossing story! 

★★★★★

#BlogBlast The Burning House by Neil Spring #BookReview @QuercusBooks #BurningHouse

About the book

It was a victimless crime…

Estate Agent Clara is struggling to make a sale. With her abusive ex-husband on the brink of finding where she’s hiding, she needs to make a commission soon or lose her chance to escape.

Boleskine House on the shores of Loch Ness has remained unsold for years, and Clara is sure that an ‘innocent’ fire will force the price down. But the perfect crime soon turns into the perfect nightmare: there was a witness, a stranger in the village, and he’s not going to let Clara get away with it that easily…

From the bestselling author of The Ghost Hunters, The Watchers and The Lost Village comes a tense and claustrophobic psychological thriller

Published by Quercus Books

Publication Date – 29th November 2018 – ebook

                             21st March 2019 – paperback

Purchase Links

Amazon UK

hive.co.uk

MY REVIEW

Wow! What a tense and chilling read that was!! From the start you are thrown into quite a chain of shocking events  and the consequences of these are felt throughout the book, and leads to some very dark places for some of the characters!

Clara Jones seems to be doing her best to put an abusive relationship behind her by hiding away and creating a new life for herself.  And life as an estate agent brings her to Boleskine House, a substantial home in an idyllic spot on the banks of Loch Ness, but it’s a house with a very dark past and legends last a long time in this part of the world.  She decides to take matters into her own hands to try and get a quicker sale and this leads to devastating consequences!

Oswald is a man on a mission – and his mission is that he must own Boleskine.  For what purpose it is unclear to begin with , but Clara soon finds herself drawn into an extremely unsettling and disturbing world – one she’d thought she’d left behind when she left London.

There are a number of characters in this book who are deeply unpleasant, and that just adds to the bleak and terrifying situations that poor Clara finds herself put in.  It’s one of those books that just gets your blood pumping with all the action and alarming dark twists and turns!  The action never seems to let up and I found myself gasping in shock  on many occasions throughout! It’s one of those books that definitely leaves a lasting and chilling impression!

🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

#BookReview The Corset by Laura Purcell #PublicationDay #TheCorset

About the book

The new Victorian chiller from the author of Radio 2 Book Club pick, The Silent Companions.

Is prisoner Ruth Butterham mad or a murderer? Victim or villain?

Dorothea and Ruth. Prison visitor and prisoner. Powerful and powerless. Dorothea Truelove is young, wealthy and beautiful. Ruth Butterham is young, poor and awaiting trial for murder.

When Dorothea’s charitable work leads her to Oakgate Prison, she is delighted with the chance to explore her fascination with phrenology and test her hypothesis that the shape of a person’s skull can cast a light on their darkest crimes. But when she meets teenage seamstress Ruth, she is faced with another theory: that it is possible to kill with a needle and thread. For Ruth attributes her crimes to a supernatural power inherent in her stitches.

The story Ruth has to tell of her deadly creations – of bitterness and betrayal, of death and dresses – will shake Dorothea’s belief in rationality and the power of redemption.

Can Ruth be trusted? Is she mad, or a murderer?

Published by Bloomsbury

Purchase Links

hive.co.uk

Waterstones

Goldsboro Books – signed edition

MY REVIEW

This was such an eagerly anticipated read for me after being terrified by The Silent Companions, and although The Corset didn’t have that same horror element for me, it still had so many chills and creepy moments that I raced through it and loved being transported back into the world of Ruth and Dorothea.

They are very different characters and that’s the strength of this story. You get to enjoy their very different outlook on life brought together by Dorothea visiting Ruth in prison and listening to her story in the hope that she can get to the bottom of why some people behave the way they do, by using phrenology. Dorothea is one of those people who thinks there is good in everyone, so although she is horrified by the story of Ruth and her crimes she is equally fascinated.

Ruth on the other hand has a very matter of fact approach to her life. She tells her life story to Dorothea in such a distanced manner that it adds to the chills while you are reading. Her life, at times, was terrifying but she seemed to process it all in a different way and that makes you question her sanity and innocence. It’s all very unsettling to read but the more you learn of Ruth and her past, the more you begin to understand why she maybe turned out the way she did. A very tough childhood full of poverty and bullying, seems at odds with the ease that she takes to embroidery work. And as a keen cross-stitcher myself, I now can’t pick up a needle without thinking of Ruth and her story!!

Ruth led a very grim life and, for me, that made her story more compelling than that of Dorothea. Dorothea and her life story were quite well guarded and I would have liked more of her past to see what led to this ‘need to know’ why people do things they do.

I loved the whole feel of this book with its’ attention to detail of the history, the backstory was enthralling and having 2 such strong female characters was also a strong plus point for me. It was dark and full of revenge and just kept me gripped!! Cannot wait to see what Laura Purcell writes next as she’s definitely become one of my favourites!

✯✯✯✯✯

The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup #bookreview

THE BLURB

Can the past ever be forgotten?


As soon as nurse Maura Lyle sets foot inside the foreboding Essen Grange, she feels shivers ripple down her spine. And the sense of unease only increases when she meets her new patient, Gordon Henderson.
Drawn into the Henderson family’s tangled web of secrets and betrayals, Maura can ignore the danger lurking behind every door no longer. Even the door she has been forbidden from opening…
Essen Grange is a house with dark and cruel intentions. But now that darkness has turned on her, can Maura escape before it’s too late?


The chilling new novel from the bestselling author of The Lost Child and The Silent Girls. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Claire Mackintosh and Tracy Buchanan. 

Publisher – HQ Digital

Amazon UK

Kobo

Google Play

Follow the author on Twitter – @TroupAnn

MY REVIEW

Reading this at Halloween was the perfect time for me as it was quite a chilling story, full of intrigue, secrets from the past and set in the creepiest location to add to the compelling journey that the author takes us on!

I have loved the previous books from Ann Troup, so was super excited to start on this one and it hasn’t disappointed in any way! I found it quite darker than her previous books but once more she sets the scene so well that you really feel you are amongst it all and adds to the chills up your spine as you read!

We follow Maura as she goes to work as a nurse at Essen Grange – and it is as creepy as it sounds! It is the home of Gordon Henderson who is suffering badly with dementia and is kept locked in his room and dosed up to the eyeballs with a variety of drugs for a lot of the time, she finds it the perfect place to try and put her past behind her – sometimes that isn’t always as easy as it sounds.

A cast of twisted characters are then introduced to the reader throughout and when the nearby building site is brought to a halt with the discovery of some bones, the plot starts to thicken and you wonder what part the past of Essen Grange and all who have lived there play in the grisly finds. And as the body count starts to increase – with some rather graphic and shocking outcomes – rumours from the past become a little more than hearsay! The tangled web of links is often difficult to predict which just adds to the intrigue!

it is difficult to say more without revealing any spoilers, other than to say it kept me hooked throughout and unable to put the book down at times as there was always another shock round the corner to play out!

Highly recommended for those who love their books full of sinister goings on!!!