#BookReview CHRISTMAS WITH THE RAILWAY GIRLS by MAISIE THOMAS @MaisieThomas99


ABOUT THE BOOK

The brand new festive Railway Girls novel set in Manchester during WWII. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Daisy Styles and Margaret Dickinson.___________________


Manchester, 1941

Christmas is the season for family and friends, and this year the railway girls will need each other more than ever.
Cordelia appears to have the perfect life. When her daughter Emily arrives home unexpectedly, she can’t wait to introduce her to her friends. But when things don’t go to plan, Cordelia must decide where her loyalty lies.
Things aren’t going too smoothly for Alison either. Her beloved boyfriend has yet to propose, but there’s a charity fundraiser dance and she’s dressed up specially. Surely, tonight must be the night.
Colette’s friends are envious of her devoted husband; he meets her after every shift on the railway, and accompanies her around town. But Colette has a secret, one that will change her life—if only she knew who to confide in.


With the festive season fast approaching, the railway girls are hoping for some Christmas magic…

PUBLISHED BY CORNERSTONE

PURCHASE LINK

Amazon


MY REVIEW

This was another emotional installment in this wonderful Railway Girls series, and it just transports you back in time and puts you right amongst an amazing group of women who are breaking free from the traditional role that they’ve played for so long, and doing their bit for their country during a very turbulent time in our history. And in their roles on the railways, they discover in themselves a different side to them and it’s wonderful to watch them flourish with their new responsibilities and the confidence it gives them all – all while dealing with their own personal issues and the prejudices of some of those around them.

There’s a number of stories in this part of the series – Cordelia, on the outside, looks like she has the perfect life, and her young daughter has also returned home wanting a role in working so that throws up new challenges for the family. Alison has the perfect boyfriend and she’s eagerly awaiting his proposal, planning her new life with him and wondering what the future has in store for them. And Collette is the envy of her friends, with an attentive husband, but she has a secret that she’s scared to share with anyone. Behind closed doors things can be very different!

And it’s the friendships between the women that stand out one more – they become more than just work colleagues, and they pick up on changes in each others behaviour, forever watching out for one another.

I love the way that there’s always a great cast of characters – different age groups facing different issues, but all against the backdrop of never knowing what the war will bring to them next alongside the attitudes of others who still don’t see the role of women as more than just homemakers.

It’s a book that made me cheer and cry – you’re really put through the full range of emotions! The characters are so relatable and easy to identify with. They are all going through such a changing time in history and it’s wonderful to see them evolving while dealing with ‘life’! The author has a great way of telling their stories and it’s always a delight to be in the company of these women as they watch their roles in the world change. Another wonderful read!


★★★★★


My thanks to the author for the advanced reader copy in return for a fair and honest review.