#BlogTour #BookReview The Little Village of Happiness by Holly Martin #TheLittleVillageOfHappiness

ABOUT THE BOOK

Fall head-over-heels in love with the beautiful new novel from bestselling author Holly Martin and let The Little Village of Happiness warm your heart and make your spirits soar.


Willow McKay needs a fresh start. Her recent break-up may not have left her heartbroken but it’s certainly wounded her pride. Desperate to escape the whispers and stares of her town’s gossips, an advert offering homes in a picturesque village in the grounds of a majestic castle on the Cornish coast sounds like just what she needs. Without thinking twice Willow applies for a cottage and packs up her life for the village of Happiness.

But when Willow arrives she finds a crumbling ruin and ramshackle cottages, nothing like the pretty picture the advert had boasted. It seems Happiness was too good to be true. That is until she meets the incredibly handsome estate manager Andrew Harrington…

His passion for restoring the village to its former glory is contagious and soon they are working together to bring happiness back to Happiness. And as sparks fly between them Willow can feel herself falling. But Andrew is holding something back.

Can Willow risk her heart again? And will they succeed in transforming the old village to its original beauty before it’s too late?

Get swept away to the sun-kissed Cornish coast with this gorgeous love story, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Miranda Dickinson and Lucy Diamond.

published by Sunshine, Seaside & Sparkles


PURCHASE LINK


Amazon UK


MY REVIEW


Just blooming delightful!! One of those books that you totally lose yourself in and a book set in Happiness that just brings oodles of happiness to the reader!!

Willow is in need of a new start in life! So when she sees an advert for a rent free cottage in an idyllic location,she can’t say no! The village (Happiness) is trying to revive itself so are giving people the opportunity to live there and hopefully like what they see! She’s a bit shocked on first appearances as all doesn’t seem to what it is meant to and she soon wonders what she’s let herself in for! But she’s a positive kind of soul and soon throws herself into village life and ends up being a great help to the estate manager, Andrew, who she gets on with well from the start!

He shares her positive outlook on life and it’s no wonder they click! I love them together and they bring out the best in one another, and the best in others! There’s great touches of humour between them and he soon finds himself opening up to Willow about things he normally doesn’t like to share.

The sense of community is second to none in this book. As they try and revive the fortunes of the village it gets everyone of all ages pulling together and I loved the extra effort that Willow and Andrew put in to the whole project. They realise it’s the little things that matter to people and just putting a smile on their faces becomes a big fun project!

Willow is a force to be reckoned with and just doesn’t seem to run out of ideas for getting things moving and although there are a few spanners thrown in the works at times, she always has that optimism that everything will work out for the best.

Loved it!! Hope there’ll be a return visit to Happiness soon!!

★★★★★

Advertisement

#BookReview The Summer of Chasing Dreams by Holly Martin

About the book

A joyously romantic, feel-good summer read that will make you laugh, cry and fall in love. Eva Blue is about to go on a trip of a lifetime, but one adventure she didn’t count on was falling in love…

Eva is quite content with her life in London. In her job as a cover designer, she works at home, and often in her cosy pyjamas. She’s happy to stay in her safe little world and not explore much outside of it.

She is the opposite of her mum, a free spirit who craved finding adventure and thrills in all corners of the world. But on the day her mum’s will is finalised, Eva finds a list of all the dreams her mum wanted to achieve in her life. Things she never did because she fell pregnant with Eva.

Eva decides these dreams will not go unfulfilled — she is going to be brave and complete them for her mum. As Eva has no experience travelling the world, she hires a guide to go with her on this holiday.

Gorgeous but rude Thor Anderson is not the person she would choose to accompany her on this journey, but somehow she gets stuck with him. As they discover the world together Eva starts to think he might not be as bad as she first thought. She is swept away by Thor’s kindness and mischievous sense of humour. But will it be a simple holiday romance or could this wonderful adventure lead to so much more?

The stunning new story from the bestselling author of The Cottage on Sunshine Beach. Discover an unforgettable romance this summer. If you enjoy reading Sarah Morgan, Miranda Dickinson and Jill Mansell, this book is for you.

Purchase Links

Amazon UK – Paperback – out now!

Amazon UK – Kindle Edition – release date 29th March 2019

MY REVIEW

If you’re looking for a way to take a trip around the world in the company of wonderful characters without having to move from your sofa, then you NEED this book in your life!! I’ve been utterly mesmerized by this book from start to finish …..and I may have fallen a little in love with Thor!! But more of him later!!

This is the story of Eva who is facing up to life without her mum. They were totally chalk and cheese in personalities – Eva is more than happy to stay indoors surrounded by what she knows and loves, whereas her mum was a life grabber! If an opportunity to do something came along she grabbed it. But the world scares Eva and you really feel for her as she starts to consider life outside her comfort zone.

When she starts clearing out the loft she uncovers a letter from her mum Juliette, that she wrote to her daughter when she was just a year old. Alongside the letter she finds a box of dreams – a list of things her mum always wanted to try, places she wanted to visit – and the combination of the letter and these bucket list items really gets to Eva and she takes a walk on the wild side and starts living life a little dangerously to fulfill some of her mums’ dreams.

She researches an escorted holiday – safety first, she won’t be travelling alone! – and soon her trip around the world becomes reality. Her first trip to the travel company she uses doesn’t quite go according to plan but allows her to meet Rebecca who will be her travel companion and she gets on well with her. Unfortunate events on the day of departure lead to a change in her companion though, and this is when Thor steps in to save the day and escort her – considering their first meeting was a little fraught to say the least, it doesn’t bode well but it’s too late to change so off they go!

What follows is just a wonderful journey through a number of countries and experiences, along with some memorable and heartwarming experiences that Eva and Thor end up sharing and it was just so delightful to laugh along with them on a number of occasions as they become the kind of characters you warm to so easily!

Thor has been on a number of these trips before, but he’s never met anyone like Eva before and he begins to enjoy the trip a little more as he’s able to relax and be himself – funny, caring….. He’s just wonderful! (see, told you I was smitten!)

There’s lovely touches throughout as Eva never forgets her mum and finds a way to include her as she works through the list of dreams which I found to be so sweet.

This was a delicious treat of a read and I would have been happy for it to be at least another 200 pages long as I just loved my time with Eva and Thor. I adored this book!!!

💖💖💖💖💖

My thanks to the author and publisher for the advanced copy in return for a fair and honest review.

Summer at Rose Island by Holly Martin – my book review

THE BLURB

Fall in love with the gorgeous seaside town of White Cliff Bay this summer and enjoy long sunny days, beautiful beaches and… a little romance.

Darcy Davenport is ready for a fresh start. Determined to leave a string of disastrous jobs and relationships behind her, she can’t wait to explore White Cliff Bay and meet the locals.

When Darcy swims in the crystal clear waters of the bay, she discovers the charming Rose Island Lighthouse. But it’s not just the beautiful building that she finds so intriguing…

Riley Eddison doesn’t want change. Desperate to escape the memories of his past, he lives a life of solitude in the lighthouse. Yet he can’t help but notice the gorgeous woman who swims out to his island one day.

Darcy is drawn to the mysterious and sexy Riley, but when it seems the town is trying to demolish his home, she soon finds herself having to pick sides.

She’s fallen in love with White Cliff Bay. But is that all Darcy’s fallen for?

Pull up a deck chair, sink back with a bowl of strawberry ice cream and pick up the summer read you won’t be able to put down

 
 
 
MY REVIEW
 
I loved Book 1 of the series.
 I loved Book 2 of the series
 
.. ….. and guess what!!
 
 I ADORE book 3 of the White Cliff Bay series! Loved, Loved, Loved it!!

Holly Martin has such a fabulous way of writing that I was hooked from the first couple of pages! She fills her books with characters that you immediately warm to, settings that you want to move to and sprinkles the right amount of humour amongst it all and creates another wonderful reading experience!!  The cover is rather stunning too!!

This is the story of Darcy who feels like a failure in whatever she does. Especially to her parents – nothing she ever does seems good enough for them. So when she leaves London to escape the rat race to take up a position in White Cliff Bay for the council, she knows she’s letting them down again. But for her it brings back all the wonderful memories she has of the place when she used to spend time with her Aunt there and learning to love Scuba Diving and the sea life which led to her career as a marine biologist.

Riley is an American who is living in the White Cliff Lighthouse, but that looks all set to change soon with the council planning big changes for the area. He keeps himself to himself as to not get involved with the local community, but still has the female population swooning in his prescence! But there’s something different about Darcy when he first meets her – and the feeling is mutual!

With the help of the community though a plan is put into place to try and save the Lighthouse and it is always wonderful to read of people power in such a small community.

 
It is fair to say  that this book won me over heart and soul again and I hope that if you visit The White Cliff Bay series then the same happens for you!!  Trust me, you won’t be disappointed! They can easily be read as standalone stories, but it is much nicer to get the full impact of the community via the series!

Another wonderful story from Holly and I am hoping there’ll be more from this wonderful setting in the near future as I’m always eager for more!!
 
 
HAPPY READING!!