#BlogTour WOMEN AND LOVE by MIRIAM BURKE #BookReview @renardpress


Delighted to be with you today as part of the Blog Tour for the fabulous WOMEN AND LOVE by MIRIAM BURKE.

My thanks to the author and publisher, Renard Press, for letting me be part of it all!

ABOUT THE BOOK

Women and Love by Miriam Burke

ISBN: 9781913724818

Paperback • 224pp • £10

23rd February 2022

‘I couldn’t sleep that night; our conversation was like a trapped bird flying around inside my head. The next morning, I texted to say I wouldn’t be coming back. I lied about having to return to my country to nurse a sick relative. I couldn’t bear to see my story mirrored in his eyes, and to see what we never had. I knew he’d understand.’ 

Women and Love is a thought-provoking collection of seventeen tightly woven tales about the power of love, all its trials and complications, and the shattered lives it can leave in its wake. 

The stories explore a huge variety of sorts of love surrounding women in wildly differing settings, and features an unforgettable cast including GPs, burglars, inmates, emigrant cleaners, carers, young professionals, and many more. Navigating heavy themes, with a particular focus on LGBTQ+ experiences, including gender dysphoria and searching for a sperm donor, the stories leave the reader burning with indignation, full of empathy and wonder.

A writer from the west of Ireland, Miriam Burke’s short stories have been widely published in anthologies and journals, including The Manchester Review, Litro Magazine, Fairlight Shorts, The Honest Ulsterman, Bookanista and Writers’ Forum. She has a PhD in Psychology, and before becoming a writer she worked for many years as a Clinical Psychologist in London hospitals and GP practices. Women and Love is her debut collection.

Resource links:

Author reading on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cxS6jL_kC4

Author’s website: https://miriamburkeauthor.com

Purchase links:

Renard Press: https://renardpress.com/books/women-and-love/

Waterstones:https://www.waterstones.com/book/women-and-love/miriam-burke/9781913724818

Bookshop.org: https://uk.bookshop.org/books/women-and-love/9781913724818Blackwells: https://blackwells.co.uk/bookshop/product/9781913724818

MY REVIEW

This is the kind of short story collection I love!  Miriam has put together a brilliantly fresh feeling to these 17 short stories, each with a snappy feel and showing love in all its’ forms – be it male, female, straight, gay, family, children.. it’s not afraid to show the good, the bad, the highs and the lows!

I found the book to have a great flow from start to finish.  Each story had a different viewpoint and I loved how the changing focus kept things zipping along – from a cleaner watching the dynamics of families she works for whilst carrying her own pain, to the divorced couple chatting over a coffee as to what changed between them, to the lesbian couple talking over having children together, and the friends reuniting at a funeral and discussing how their lives had changed.  

This really is a short story collection that has something for everyone and I found it compelling just how much you could glean from the brief glimpses of the characters as they reflected on a situation, and I think that’s what made it so relatable and interesting as a reader.  It involves day to day scenarios and shows the impact of decisions on people around them whether for better or worse.  Just the way life goes!It also does a great job of showing the irrationality of love – how it can make you overthink a situation, cloud your judgement, repeat the failings you despise in others…. humans are just really weird and make no sense at times aren’t we?!

I cannot wait to read more from this author and this is a short story collection I cannot recommend highly enough!! Go grab a copy!!

★★★★★

Advertisement

Top Ten Tuesday; Books I love with the word Love in the title!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme now hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl.

And the topic this week, ahead of Valentine’s Day, is a love freebie so I’ve decided to list 10 books that I’ve read fairly recently that contain the word LOVE in the title!  Click on the book title if you’d like to read my GoodReads review!

Love and Other Consolation Prizes by Jamie Ford  –  4 stars

Crazy Little Thing Called Love by Charlotte Butterfield  –  4 stars

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling  –  5 stars

The Proof of Love by Catherine Hall  –  4 stars

Can’t Buy Me Love by Jane Lovering  – 5 stars

The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce  –  5 stars

The One We Fell in Love With by Paige Toon  –  4 stars

How To Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry  –  5 stars

The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild  –  5 stars

Everything Love Is by Claire King

❤❤❤❤❤❤

 

  I can highly recommend any of these if you’ve not already read them! What’s your favourite ‘love’ book title?!

Me, You and Tiramisu by Charlotte Butterfield – book review

THE BLURB

The love story of the year!

Fall in love with the perfect feel-good romance for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews.

It all started with a table for two…

Life for self-confessed bookworm Jayne Brady couldn’t be better – she has a twin sister she adores, a cosy little flat above a deli and now she’s found love with her childhood crush, gorgeous chef Will.

But when Will becomes a Youtube sensation, thanks to his delicious cookery demos (both the food and his smile!), their life of contentment come crashing down around them. Can Jayne have her Tiramisu and eat it?

Amazon UK

Publication Date – 23rd February 2017

HarperImpulse

My Review

This was a lovely surprise of a read! It’s the story of extremely likeable Jayne who is a harrassed teacher with a love of books, and who is in search of her true love and happy ending!  Aren’t we all?!

When her first love reappears on the scene she is beyond ecstatic to reconnect and can barely believe her luck that he even gives her the time of day as she’s always too hard on herself and thinks she isn’t good enough! She’s not outgoing like her twin sister but it finally seems she has the perfect life that she has always dreamt of.


But that all changes when chef Will becomes an internet sensation thanks to his cookery videos and both their lives change but is it for better or for worse?!

Really loved the characters in this story and enjoyed the way the story explored the good, and bad, sides of success on the internet and all that brings with it. It makes you aware of success changing people or changing peoples’ perceptions of others because of what they see online and in the media and I found that to be very enlightening in the media obsessed world that we now live in.

Lots of fun moments too made for a very enjoyable read!

Thankyou to NetGalley and the publishers HarperImpulse for an advanced copy.