#BlogTour THE FALL OF KOLI by M.R.CAREY #BookReview @michaelcarey191 @orbitbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n

Delighted to be with you today to share my thoughts on THE FALL OF KOLI by M.R.CAREY. My thanks to the author, publisher and Tracy of Compulsive Readers, for putting this wonderful blog tour together and letting me be part of it all!


ABOUT THE BOOK


The Fall of Koli is the third and final novel in the breathtakingly original Rampart trilogy – set in a strange and deadly world of our own making.

The world that is lost will come back to haunt us . . .

Koli has come a long way since being exiled from his small village of Mythen Rood. In his search for the fabled tech of the old times, he knew he’d be battling strange, terrible beasts and trees that move as fast as whips. But he has already encountered so much more than he bargained for.

Now that Koli and his companions have found the source of the signal they’ve been following – the mysterious “Sword of Albion” – there is hope that their perilous journey will finally be worth something.

Until they unearth terrifying truths about an ancient war . . . and realise that it may have never ended.


published by Orbit Books

PURCHASE LINKS – publication date 25th March 2021


Amazon
blackwell’s
waterstones

MY REVIEW

Book 3 of the Rampart Trilogy….. why does it have to end?! I’ve got so used to Koli being in my life that it’s going to be tough without him and his merry band of adventurers!!  But this final part is a wonderful fitting way to end the series and I’ll just have to keep reading them all over again to keep them in my mind!


In this book we really get to see how the journey has changed Koli – we’ve watched him grow up in front of us with the challenges he has had to face along the way, and this whole story is a more streamlined and straightforward tale.  We follow Koli and his friends on their quest, along with the storyline from the point of view of Spinner who is back home and facing challenges of their own as they battle rival forces.  This split storyline really does capture your imagination and ramps up the emotion – it’s one of those books that leaves you not wanting to read on at times, but know you have to as you just want to find out what happens!!

This is a book that engages you as a reader! You are travelling along with Koli and seeing how his relationships with Monono, Ursula and Cup evolves, as well as spending time with Spinner who is making big decisions back home for the safety of everyone else. 
It’s a book full of dramatic scenes, full of emotion but yet full of hope and I have enjoyed every single moment of my time spent in the company of these characters in their weird, but relatable futuristic world… now when do we get a movie???!!!


★★★★★

#BlogTour THE TRIALS OF KOLI by M.R.CAREY #TheTrialsOfKoli @OrbitBooks @michaelcarey191@Tr4cyF3nt0n

A huge delight to be the latest stop on the Blog Tour for the fabulous THE TRIALS OF KOLI by M.R.CAREY. My thanks to the author, publisher and Tracy of Compulsive Readers for putting the tour together and letting me be part of it all!


ABOUT THE BOOK

 The Trials of Koli is the second novel in M R. Carey’s breathtakingly original Rampart trilogy, set in a strange and deadly world of our own making.


Beyond the walls of Koli’s small village lies a fearsome landscape filled with choker trees, vicious beasts and shunned men. As an exile, Koli’s been forced to journey out into this mysterious, hostile world. But he heard a story, once. A story about lost London, and the mysterious tech of the Old Times that may still be there. If Koli can find it, there may still be a way for him to redeem himself – by saving what’s left of humankind


PUBLISHED BY ORBIT BOOKS


PURCHASE LINKS

HIVE.CO.UK
BLACKWELL’S
WATERSTONES

MY REVIEW


The distinctive voice of Koli is back, and this is the next installment in the trilogy and boy is it good!! 


As the journey for Koli and his companions continues, this book allows them all a little more space to develop and we also get the fascinating point of view of Spinner and their point of view of things in the present back in the village and that really does add something a little bit special to the storyline!


They are searching for Lost London and how the old tech may be able to save them from the dystopian world they find themselves living in.  And they are now dealing with danger from man, beast and trees along the way! There’s a lot more action in this book which made for even more edge of the seat reading!!


And while Koli is on a quest for information, we get to see things from the perspective of Spinner who is at home and fighting war and disease.  With information that she uncoves, she finds herself being distrusted and feared by others who want to silence her.


This part of the trilogy felt more settled, and more grown up. The way the world was expanded by the author was just perfect! And it just sets up so nicely for part 3 which I’m equally excited and dreading!! Please can it carry on for a few more books?!!!


★★★★★

#BlogTour THE BOOK OF KOLI by M.R.CAREY #BookReview @orbitbooks @michaelcarey191

Delighted to be taking part in the Blog Tour for the exciting release of THE BOOK OF KOLI by M.R.CAREY. My thanks to the author, publisher and Tracy of Compulsive Readers for putting the tour together and letting me be part of it all!

ABOUT THE BOOK

Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don’t get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don’t venture beyond the walls.

What he doesn’t know is – what happens when you aren’t given a choice?

The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation.

published by ORBIT BOOKS

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon

blackwell’s

MY REVIEW

What an introduction to a trilogy!!  The Book of Koli is the perfect start  and will have you eager to read more of the adventures ahead! This is book one, with books two and three to follow over the next year, and it’s brilliant story of nature turning against humanity!

Koli lives his life in fear, especially of trees and nature. The world they live in has severely changed over the years, the population has decreased and humans are kept in smaller groups for their own safety and survival.  It’s a scary world outside the safety of their own communities and for Koli growing up it’s a confusing place to be.  It’s a brutal and sparse way of life where you have to fight to survive and work together to thrive.

At the age of 15 he has to leave home to await his future – think an extreme ‘sorting hat’ kind of process! You discover your job and name for life. Living in a world constantly surveyed by drones for monitoring breaches and bad behaviour – we could do with these now in these ‘stay at home’ days!!

The more people Koli meets, the more his eyes are opened to the outside world and I loved seeing his character process things he learns – no more so than when a Japanese AI enters his life to teach him about the ‘old world’ and leads him on a path of discovery and figuring out why the world changed – very relevant to now it seems!! Be afraid!!

I found the story to be told at quite a pace and was often quite bleak (quite rightly!), but did really appreciate the touches of humour thrown in that did lift the mood. I am already itching to read more from Koli and the others to see where their journey takes them next!!

★★★★