#BlogTour THE SPANISH GIRL by JULES HAYES #BookReview @rararesources

Delighted to be part of the Blog Tour today for THE SPANISH GIRL by JULES HAYES. My thanks to the author, publisher and Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources for putting the tour together and letting me be part of it all!

A country torn apart by war.

Two love stories divided by decades.

One chance to discover the truth… 

Feisty journalist Isabella has never known the truth about her family. Escaping from a dangerous assignment in the turbulent Basque country, she finds her world turned upside down, firstly by her irresistible attraction to the mysterious Rafael, and then by a new clue to her own past. 

As she begins to unravel the tangled story of her identity, Isabella uncovers a story of passion, betrayal and loss that reaches back to the dark days of Spain’s civil war – when a passionate Spanish girl risked everything for her country, and for the young British rebel who captured her heart. 

But can Isabella trust the man she’s fallen in love with? Or are some wartime secrets better left undisturbed…? 

Heartbreaking, gripping historical fiction about the tragedy of war, and the redemption of love. Perfect for fans of Angela Petch’s The Tuscan Secret and Kathryn Hughes’ The Letter.

Purchase Links 

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08L7G3M26/ 

US – https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08L7G3M26/ 

About the Author

I have a degree in modern history and I’m fascinated with events from the first half of the 20th century, which is the time period my historical fiction is set.

My work has been longlisted in the Mslexia Novel Competition, and shortlisted in the prestigious Bridport Short Story Competition.

I live in Berkshire, UK with my partner, daughter and dog. Before writing stories, I was a physiotherapist.

Jules Hayes is a pseudonym for JA Corrigan who writes contemporary thrillers. Falling Suns by JA Corrigan (Headline Accent) was published in 2016. 

Website: https://www.jules-hayes.com/

Twitter @JulesHayes6  – http://www.twitter.com/JulesHayes6

Facebook Author Page: JulesHayesAuthor – http://www.facebook.com/JulesHayesAuthor

Instagram: JulesHayes6 – http://www.instagram.com/juleshayes6


MY REVIEW


This is a book that features some fascinating times in history, and that alone grabs your attention right away.  Add to the mix, some characters who show extreme determination and fortitude and you find yourself living their lives with them, and sharing their passions and despair about things they uncover, and wondering whether finding out the truth will bring them the resolution they desire.


Set mostly in Spain, we follow the story over 2 time periods that are full of rebellion and conflict.  Isabella has always wondered about her mother  and when she finds someone who knows more about them, she is immediately eager to learn about the history and what her mother was involved with.


I loved the periods of history featured in this story – both of which I knew very little about but it has led me to start reading up to learn more.  In Isabella, we have a character who has a very driven personality and shows no fear when faced with trouble and the more we learn about her, the more we know where she gets that trait from!  


And as we follow the story from 1937, we hear of Sofia and Jack and how their paths crossed in extraordinary circumstances and the devastating and dramatic impact of those fighting the good fight. There are some very harrowing stories retold and it brings home the ugliness of war, of differences of ‘opinion’ and the human cost.


This was an epic tale that I couldn’t put down once I’d started it! You get totally absorbed in the  drama and the extraordinary characters you meet along the way.


★★★★★