#BlogTour LIES LIKE WILDFIRE by JENNIFER LYNN ALVAREZ #BookReview #TheWriteReads @The_WriteReads @penguinplatform #LiesLikeWildfire #UltimateBlogTour



Delighted to be with you today as part of the Blog Tour for the wonderful LIES LIKE WILDFIRE by JENNIFER LYNN ALVAREZ..  My thanks to the author, publisher and The Write Reads for putting the tour together and letting me be part of it all!

ABOUT THE BOOK


An intense high-stakes story about five friends and the deadly secret that could send their lives up in flames, perfect for fans of Karen McManus and E. Lockhart.

In Gap Mountain, California, everyone knows about fire season. And no one is more vigilant than 18-year-old Hannah Warner, the sheriff’s daughter and aspiring FBI agent. That is until this summer. When Hannah and her best friends accidentally spark an enormous and deadly wildfire, their instinct is to lie to the police and the fire investigators.

But as the blaze roars through their rural town and towards Yosemite National Park, Hannah’s friends begin to crack and she finds herself going to extreme lengths to protect their secret. Because sometimes good people do bad things. And if there’s one thing people hate, it’s liars.


PUBLISHED BY PENGUIN

PURCHASE ORDER

Amazon


MY REVIEW

This is a thrilling, and chilling!, YA novel that explores the dark sides of youth, where the consequences of their action spirals out of control!  And what follows is the story of lies,tension, regrets and betrayals and I thoroughly enjoyed it – I can already picture the drama series on TV!!


A group of friends are out in the woods and accidentally start a fire – the impact of which is deadly! They don’t want to admit responsibility for their actions so they make a pact to stay silent – they weren’t there. They saw nothing.  But that involves trying to cover their tracks and soon cracks start to appear in their stories, and as the death toll rises, the conscience of some of the group starts to get the better of them… much to the disgust of others.


This is a really clever book as it covers so many relevant topics of the time – the dangers of using flames in a dry area and how quickly that can spread and how the local areas have to deal with the devastation of one reckless act.  It does get  very dark at times but really does show the impact of peer pressure and how selfish some people can be to save their own backsides.  


It is fast paced and disturbing but a gripping read showing the impact of a rash decision that leads to such devastating consequences for so many innocent people.  How quickly life can change…..


★★★★

#BlogTour FIREBORN by AISLING FOWLER #BookReview #Fireborn #UltimateBlogTour @The_WriteReads @HarperCollinsCh @fowler_aisling



Delighted to be with you today as part of the wonderful Blog Tour for the fabulous FIREBORN by AISLING FOWLER.  My thanks to the author, publisher and The Write Reads for putting the tour together and letting me be part of it all!!


ABOUT THE BOOK

Lyra. Lucy. Percy. Once in a generation, a hero emerges whose story enthralls readers worldwide.

Fireborn is an epic quest, perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials and The School for Good and Evil series, that will spin readers into a magical world like no other–and introduce them to an unforgettable new heroine named Twelve.

Ember is full of monsters.

Twelve gave up her name and identity to train in the art of hunting them–so she says. The truth is much more deadly: she trains to take revenge on those who took her family from her.

But when Twelve’s new home is attacked, she’ll find herself on an unexpected journey, where her hidden past is inescapably intertwined with her destiny–and the very fate of her world.


published by HarperCollins

PURCHASE LINK


Amazon


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Aisling was born in 1985 and wishes that she had grown up in a magical, mountainous kingdom, but was actually raised in Surrey on a diet of books and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Her early ‘adventure’ stories involved surprisingly little action and her first novel (3 pages long) was politely declined by publishers at age 11.

After earning a BSc in Biology and working as a support worker and then a nurse, the idea for her debut novel, Fireborn, came to her as she moved back and forth between London and the US. Now based in Hackney, when she is not reading or writing, Aisling loves cooking and plotting adventures (for herself as well as her fictional characters). Fireborn will be published by HarperCollins in 2021.

MY REVIEW


If a book is inspired by Buffy the Vampire Slayer, then I want to read it!! And it’s been a total blast of a reading experience and I’m eagerly awaiting more of the series if they’re all going to be like this!


At the heart of the story is Twelve, an inspiring female character who is full of rage and anger, but uses that to fight monsters and to right the wrongs of the world she finds herself living in.  She’s a bit of an outsider, seen as a weirdo by some of her classmates, but she just doesn’t care! With her pet squirrel, Widge, by her side, she soon finds herself setting off to save a friend.  I really got the Lyra (His Dark Materials) vibes about her as a character – she’s determined, loyal and very stubborn!


This story has a good mix of the dark and light, it does sometimes get a bit bleak but that really gets you on side with Twelve and understands why she is doing what she’s doing. Her journey is mixed with flashbacks to happier times with her family, and you wonder what messages she is meant to take from these dreams she keeps getting.


It’s a story of magic and monsters, adventure and adversity, battles and betrayals and I loved it!  Bring on the next installment!! 


★★★★

#BlogTour WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS by CORY ANDERSON #BookReview #TheWriteReads @The_WriteReads @penguinplatform @coryanderwrites



Delighted to be with you today as part of the blog tour for WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS by CORY ANDERSON.  My thanks to the publisher, author and TheWriteReads team for putting the tour together and letting me be part of it all!

ABOUT THE BOOK

When everything you love is in danger, how long can you keep running to survive? Life can be brutal Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones. Jack knew it Jack Dahl has nothing left. Except his younger brother, Matty, who he’d die for. Their mother is gone, and their funds are quickly dwindling, Jack needs to make a choice: lose his brother to foster care, or find the drug money that sent his father to prison. 

So did I Ava lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Did I feel the flutter of wings when Jack and I met? Did I sense the coming tornado? But now Ava wants to break the rules – to let Jack in and open her heart. Then she discovers that Jack and her father are stalking the same money, and suddenly Ava is faced with a terrible choice: remain silent or speak out and help the brothers survive. Looking back, I think I did . . . 

Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Meg Rosoff and Daniel Woodrell, What Beauty There Is an unforgettable debut novel that is as compulsive as it is beautiful, and unflinchingly explores the power of determination, survival and love.

 ‘Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss and keeps you there until you’ve read every last word’ Ruta Sepetys, bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey

Twitter: @coryanderwrites 

Website: https://coryanderson.us/ 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/coryanderwrites/ 

Amazon UK Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/What-Beauty-There-Cory-Anderson/dp/0241441714/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=what+beauty+there+is&qid=1616251655&sr=8-1 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44779579-what-beauty-there-is?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=cy9S5ruE50&rank=1 

MY REVIEW

If your heart doesn’t break for Jack in this story, then there’s something wrong with you!! This is an extraordinary story about a young boy soldiering the weight of his family problems on his shoulders.  His father is in prison, he found his mother after she committed suicide and now he’s having to protect his younger brother from people wanting to settle scores.

His father was jailed for his part in a robbery, and the money is still missing, so his partner wants to find out where it is – and he won’t stop until he gets what he wants. His daughter, Ava, meets Jack at school when he helps her out, so she is then torn between family loyalties and her concern for Jack and his brother.

The story has such a dark and unsettling vibe throughout, as Jack seems to face one hurdle after another.  But he’s driven and determined and willing to do whatever it takes to keep his little brother safe, and find a way to put their pasts behind them.  You sense his trepidation when reaching out to ask for help from people as he just doesn’t have much trust in others – and no wonder with what he’s had to face before.

This is a story that packs a punch and is beautifully written.  Prepare for an intense read that keeps you spellbound as you turn every page.

★★★★★

#BlogTour BAD HABITS by FLYNN MEANEY @penguinplatform @The_WriteReads #BookReview

Delighted to be with you today to share my thoughts on BAD HABITS by FLYNN MEANEY – all part of a wonderful Blog Tour put together by The Write Reads!

ABOUT THE BOOK



Hilarious, bold, sparky and surprising, this is the funniest feminist book you’ll read all year.

Alex is a rebel from the tip of her purple fauxhawk to the toes of her biker boots. She’s tried everything she can think of to get expelled from her strict Catholic boarding school. Nothing has worked so far – but now, Alex has a new plan.

Tired of the sexism she sees in every corner of St Mary’s, Alex decides to stage the school’s first ever production of The Vagina Monologues. Which is going to be a challenge, as no one else at St Mary’s can even bear to say the word ‘vagina’ out loud . . .
published by Penguin Books

PURCHASE LINK


Amazon

ABOUT THE AUTHOR



Flynn Meaney is the author of The Boy Recession and Bloodthirsty. She studied marketing and French at the University of Notre Dame, where she barely survived the terrifying array of priests and nuns, campus ghosts, and bone-crushing athletes who inspired Bad Habits. Since completing a very practical MFA in Poetry, she works for a French company and travels often between New York (when she’s in the mood for bagels) and Paris (when she’s in the mood for croissants).


MY REVIEW


This was the much needed lighter read that I needed in these darker times we find ourselves in!  Alex is a fun and funky character who doesn’t know the meaning of the word ‘conforming’ and is desperate to do things her own way – no matter the consequences!!  She’s standing up for her rights but that isn’t always going to be well accepted at her very straight laced boarding school!!
You do feel sorry for her as a person as the school has become her family – her own parents are way too busy to do the ‘parenting’ thing so have shipped her off to a Catholic Boarding School – so you can understand why she’s desperate to rebel.  She wants some attention and she doesn’t care how she gets it!  Wanting to perform the Vagina Monologues with her Feminist Club isn’t going to have too many fans amongst the staff, but they set her a challenge and she is ready to accept that challenge!!
There’s lots of the normal teen stuff in this book that you can always relate to – friend issues, teen angst, boys being boys – and it made for a really entertaining read to follow her on her quest for success with her play!  This is no Mallory Towers though and this is a book of the times, with buzz words galore!!
Alex is a character who is not backwards in coming forwards, and I loved her attitude and ‘can do’ attitude! A funny and pleasing story!


★★★★