My Favourite Books of 2017

That time of the year has arrived!! Time to have a look back at all the books I’ve managed to read over 2017 (at the time of typing it is 203 with another one almost finished!) and it has been a freakishly astonishing year of books for me!  So many new authors have made their way onto my radar, and I’m thankful to social media for bringing them all to my attention although my sagging bookshelves might not be so thankful,  new genres have been enjoyed and I’ve just really enjoyed pushing myself out of my comfort zone to discover new amazing stories.

BUT this then makes it very difficult when you get to the end of the year trying to pick out your favourites!! There are just so many that have made me laugh, smile and cry in equal measures, that I’ve gone over the list a number of times and have finally settled on a list of 15 books that have stayed with me more than others , and have helped make 2017 such a wonderful year.   There could have been a longer list and I feel bad about missing some fabulous books off the list – maybe there’ll be a follow up post with more of my favourites on in the near future! But for now, here’s the books that have stood out for me the most over the past 12 months! Click on the title if you’d like to read my GoodReads review.

In no particular order……..

The Wild Air by Rebecca Mascull

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

 

We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter

Lincoln In The Bardo by George Saunders

A Thousand Paper Birds by Tor Udall

The Shifting Pools by Zoe Duncan

Handcuffs, Truncheon and a Polyester Thong by Gina Kirkham

The Scandal by Fredrik Backman ( Beartown (US Title) )

Thornhill by Pam Smy

Snow Sisters by Carol Lovekin

The Visitors by Catherine Burns

The Book of Dust by Philip Pullman

And that is it! The 15 books that have warmed my heart, made me sob, made me laugh, shocked me, chilled me, thrilled me and kept me thoroughly entertained throughout 2017!  Thank you to all the authors and publishers who continue to amaze me with stunning stories!

Bring on 2018…….

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Books of 2017

  1. Jesus christ. I’ve read 63 books and I’m stuggling to write my best of post! Haha.
    Incidentally the scandal is very definitely on my list too.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Wild Air in 2017

Leave a comment